Lightbulb Unanswered: Need advice, help, options please

Im not a programmer, just a designer and a bit rusty at that. I need help with a small site issue.

What we have is a site listing around 200 or so different items, for sale of course. Each item is added to the site pages manually (ie part #, description, and photo for each listing). All transactions are done offline so no shopping cart, ergo no need for a database, or so I thought. Here is the catch.

Visitors interested in an item contact us through a form on the site. The problem: visitors rarely include the part # or part description in the form data when they contact us making it difficult for us to track down which item they are interested in. Many items, all similar, and they move fairly quickly. Its unruly! I dont want to use a form validator, Id rather just make it easier on the visitors to get us the info we need without all the hassle of typing in part #'s etc.

The solution: find an easy way for visitors to contact us regarding a specific item, preferably through a form, that contains all the info we need. Ideally, clicking a link from the page the item is on would bring up a new page with the form filled in as completely as we can on our end. Hidden fields for part numbers etc are acceptable, as long as we get a customers name associated with a part # and some other info (perhaps even a thumbnail of the item?).

Im thinking its time to set up a database; it will make maintaing our inventory easier, speed up additions to the site, and we should then be able to get a program that will do what i want it to, I think.

Your thoughts? Our hosting company offers Mysql, and they will do the programming, for a price. I assumed PHP would be the best choice but again, im not a programmer. I understand Access works for administering the db. Keep in mind most of the site maintenance etc is done by office folks, no real experience in such things so ease of use is important.