Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    123

    Unanswered: Custom status bar/pop-up

    Is there a way to create a custom progress bar in Access and make it actually update as the progress goes along? I've tried creating pop-up forms for this before, but I can't get it to gradually update as the code is running in the background. It just repaints all at once when the code is done.

    (see attached bmp)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails status_bar.bmp  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    yes but it depends what you want the status bar to do

    it wont work if you want to display the progress of something like a SQL query.. it will if you want to display the progress as you iterate through a recordset.

    before going down the path of writing your own progress bar could I ask why you feel the need to do so, in what way is the supplied progress bar not meeting your requirements....
    ..just so that it can be established its worth doing....

    personally Im very loathe to re-invent the wheel unless there is a clear and pressing requirement to do so....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    123
    If by supplied progress bar you mean the little thing down in the left corner, than the reason is I want something that is front and center for the user to see, like most programs other than Access have. I wouldn't see say it's reinventing the wheel--it's making the wheel look like everybody else's wheel.

    I want it to appear at the beginning of a subroutine and show the progress as the code progresses to the end.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    so what is wrong with the progress bar control
    in what way doesn't it meet your requirements
    what is your progress bar trying to show?

    There are alternatives.. but most times I've come accross people wanting to replace the supplied control do so because it doesn't do what they want AND its not possible to replace it with something that does.


    so over to you.. what do you want it show the satus of.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    I tried this before...
    I did succeed but it's really not worth the effort/grief; also every time you update the progress bar you're taking up precious execution time which would be best spent running the process in the first place

    I can dig up a link on request if you really want
    George
    Home | Blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    YES!

    There's a nice (simple coded) progress bar example I posted here which I think is what you're looking for: http://www.dbforums.com/showpost.php...5&postcount=55 . I use it all the time (it even changes colors as the bar progresses and also shows the record it's processing!) As well as the percent complete. (it's the top button on the report form which says "Show Sample Report ... using Progress bar ...".) Keep in mind that you may need to issue a Forms!MyFormName.repaint command to show the progression of the bar on the form (otherwise you'll get as you've stated, it just showing the completion.) Also note that I put a delay counter in the code to show the progress bar working (otherwise it zipped across and it was done within a second.) You can tweak the code to make it fancier if you like and make a separate progress bar form (I like to combine it all on the report form.) PctMeter() is the function which is the core to the whole thing.

    also check out the code at the end of the posts here: http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.php?t=1625485 (which controls the progress bar in the bottom left corner).

    If you have another way, please post it.
    Last edited by pkstormy; 12-21-07 at 18:56.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Well... I have to confess that I once made a progress indicator by continually modifying the caption on a command button once... lol... all hard-coded, but I can't remember which project it was, so I can't seem to get my hands on the code atm.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    48

    Hiding the Record indicator in a form

    Paul, many thanks for sharing this progress bar - it is pretty neat, and easy to create.

    One thing though - how do you create a form without the Record Indicator along the bottom?

    kind regards,
    Jill

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Jill,

    I'm guessing you mean the Navigation buttons in the bottom left. If so, change the Navigation Buttons property of the form to No.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    For the form, change the Navigation Buttons property to No.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Beat me by one minute
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I noticed - cheers
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    48
    Too easy. Many thanks again to all you guys

    kind regards,

    Jill

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    48
    One more fiddly question, though.

    In my form, on the LH side there is a long vertical line, and between that line and the LH side of the form, up the top is a small black triangular shaped pointer. The line and pointer are not present in the Design View.

    Can you please advise where that might have come from, and some suggestions for removal?

    regards,
    Jill

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    For the form, change the Record Selectors property to No.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •