Question Unanswered: Not sure if Excel is the db tool I need to use

Hello:

I am very new to databases and could use some help. I need to create a database of pdf files that I can upload to my sites server. Once people purchase a certain pdf file and paid for it I need to redirect them back to the database for downloading of the specific pdf they purchased.

I have a couple of options for creating the db. Mircosoft Excel, FrontPage 2003, MySQL and the database creator that came with my hosting package at 1and1.com.

Is what I want to do possible with Excel and if so, can someone point me in the direction on how to start?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Colleen
    dreamwanderer:

Howdy. And welcome to the board.

I would strongly recommend staying away from Excel for this kind of project. My experience with databases is very limited, but my guess is that of the ones you listed, MySQL will be by far the best option.
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

How to ask a question on forums

Dear Shades:

Thanks for posting a reply so quickly. I have been doing some reading and agree with you 100%. I've printed out the manual from my hosting site with regards to databases and am hoping to find the answers there.

I am still interested in hearing suggestions from anyone regarding this project.

Alas, sometimes people think I am smart than I am. :0p LOL. I just hate to burst their bubble.

Quote Originally Posted by dreamwanderer

Alas, sometimes people think I am smart than I am. :0p LOL. I just hate to burst their bubble.
    I have been in that boat for more than a half century!
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

How to ask a question on forums

Colleen

Excel is not a database, it's a spreadsheet.