Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: All db status -32768. How to save the db ?

    Dear Experts,

    What can I do when all databases status became -32768 ?
    select status, name from sysdatabases
    -32768 master
    -32768 user1_db
    -32768 tempdb
    -32768 sybsystemprocs
    -32768 model
    -32768 sybsystemdb

    Below statement will failed with Error 3908
    update sysdatabases set status=0 where name="user1_db"
    update sysdatabases set status=0 where name="master"

    Error3908: failed because database is in BYPASS RECOVERY MODE
    There is no backup of master db.

    Any body any idea how to save the db ?

    B. Rgds
    Tiffany

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23
    the master DB is in recovery mode, in that case you can't make any change in status by another databases, including master...

    you just make BCP's from all...

    may be you start the server when his file is in use

    but my knowlegment are too limited, i'm novice in that, better wait for another response before cry



    Grtgs
    There's only 10 kinds of people: the ones who know binary and the ones who doesn't

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    443
    Its not normal for master to be in bypass recovery mode. What happened prior to this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by trvishi
    Its not normal for master to be in bypass recovery mode. What happened prior to this?
    if the master device (and another database devices) is a file system and it is in use when the server starts, sybase mark corrupt, because can't open it...

    is not too rare



    grtgs.
    There's only 10 kinds of people: the ones who know binary and the ones who doesn't

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    443
    Quote Originally Posted by Cursed
    if the master device (and another database devices) is a file system and it is in use when the server starts, sybase mark corrupt, because can't open it...

    is not too rare



    grtgs.

    Im not used to filesystems. But in raw, the server WILL NOT start if the master in use.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7
    The truth is ... My colleague tried to save the db by rebuilding syslog. He planned to put the user data db in bypass Recovery mode. Accidentally, he put all db, including master db, in bypass Recovery mode. Any light to this situation ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23
    anyway... whitout backup to load, just can make BCP's...

    greetings

    P.S.: cut the fingers to your colleague XD!!!!
    Last edited by Cursed; 01-14-08 at 14:39.
    There's only 10 kinds of people: the ones who know binary and the ones who doesn't

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    443
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiffany Fong
    The truth is ... My colleague tried to save the db by rebuilding syslog. He planned to put the user data db in bypass Recovery mode. Accidentally, he put all db, including master db, in bypass Recovery mode. Any light to this situation ?
    Thought so. Is this a test environment or production?


    IMPORTANT: The following is JUST MY GUT FEELING AND NOT A DEFINITIVE ANSWER. So, try it on a test/play server first......
    -------------------
    If you have an environment to play with, then do the exact same update and and try to restart the server. This is just my gut feeling as when you give dataserver with master in the RUN file, it should I guess definitely try to recover master, since thats where all the system info is.

    If that doesnt work try single user mode with -M or -T3608 in RUN file if its unix OR regedit if its Windows I think (will recover master only without other databases)
    --------------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •