Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Permission

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Post Unanswered: Permission

    Hello, Can anybody explain why a new loggin with Master Database as the Default Dafault Database without any clear permission to a particular database would allow me selection in a pubs or northwind database for an example. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Just because the default is master, doesn't mean you have excluded the other database in the permissions settings...
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    If you have not granted any explicit permissions, associated the login with a role, the login is not a member of an NT account with these permissions etc then you also might want to check the permissions assigned to the public role.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18
    Pls, Note that the login is a member of an NT account. But after it's been added to the server, nothing more expect for to write something like
    USE Pubs
    SELECT * FROM authors
    and this yielded result

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    The sample databases have the guest account enabled. If you run
    Code:
    select user_name()
    while in the pubs database, you should get "guest" as a result.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18
    Thanks MCrowley, you hit the nail on the head. It simply because the sample databases have the guest account enabled

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •