Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Separate tables: use duplicate attribute names or not?

I'm fairly new to database design, and I'd like some advice on which is best: allow attributes in separate tables to have the same name, or make all attribute names unique.

For example, if I have two tables, one for teachers and one for students, and all I care about is their zip code, should I just use "zip_code" as the attribute name, or should I use "teacher_zip_code" and "student_zip_code"? Along the same lines, what about a "name" field for both a table for dogs and another table for companies, or should I use "dog_name" and "company_name"?

I've done a bit of reading on database design and some places seem to say one way, while another will say the other way. I've gone back and forth myself, so I thought I'd ask for a little guidance from those more knowledgeable than myself. Thanks.

please get me a list of those places which advocate putting the table name as a prefix into the column name, for they are wrong and i want to add them to my knuckleheads file

go back and forth no longer

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Quote Originally Posted by r937
    please get me a list of those places which advocate putting the table name as a prefix into the column name, for they are wrong and i want to add them to my knuckleheads file

I originally found the suggestion for this here:

http://www.tonymarston.net/php-mysql...es.and.content

Scrolling up a couple lines from that link says: "Some people think that my habit of including the table name inside a field name (as in CUSTOMER.CUSTOMER_ID) introduces a level of redundancy and is therefore wrong. I consider this view to be too narrow as it does not cater for all the different circumstances I have encountered over the years."