Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: Opening an Informix Backup file (bkp)

    Hi!

    I am currently in the process of carrying out a data conversion from an Informix database. I have a backup file (.bkp) which I would like to access.
    Is there any way of doing this?

    I'm am not on the same system that that backup was taken, so would I be able to restore it if I downloaded the Informix Dynamic Server to my pc?

    Ideally I would like to get it into SQL2005.

    Or would the best way be getting a copy of the database (not a backup), and then use ODBC to get into it?

    Sorry for asking such a simple question, I'm totally new to Informix, and I can't find a definitive answer on the web.

    Thanks,
    Andrew

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    You need restore this backup and to do this must be the same major version of IDS, same major version of SO and same processor architecture .
    So, if the backup are create over a IDS9.40, Linux , processor Intel x86.. the restore must be the same or a compatible enviroment...

    Now, if your backup are a IDS 10 or newer and you already have a IDS 10 installed you can use the archecker utility to restore only the table what you want to a TXT file.
    Last edited by ceinma; 01-18-08 at 08:31.
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thankyou for your prompt reply!

    The version on the server is: Informix dynamic Server 7.31.TD1.

    So in that case using the backup is out the question?

    So really the best way is getting a copy of the database itself - and then using ODBC (or OLEDB) to connect to it?

    Thanks,

    Andrew

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    If have your Informix availabe, online and is not a problem execute a big SQLs...yes the backup is out of the question.

    The best way to do this copy... well.. this is relative...
    Will be very simple using ODBC connecting with Ms-DTS for example, but isn't fast, i believed.
    You can export all data to TXT file and load on the Sql Server. but this proceeding is a little hard to do...
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks again for your prompt reply.

    I have tried using the archecker program, but cannot seem to get it to work.
    It seems to want a schema file to restore the backup, but I don't have one. I just have a bkp file.

    The bkp file is 15gb, so I wonder how large the database is?

    All I want is access to all the tables, either by odbc/oledb or even in text files.

    Any ideas?

    Sorry for asking simples questions, but I have never used Informix before, I am more familiar with Progress, SQL and FoxPro databases.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    Well in this case you will must restore your database...

    The basic steps to restore:
    1) Install the same version of IDS
    2) Restore a backup of your ONCONFIG file
    if you don't have, is possible create a new, but some parameter need same exactly equal when the database backup made...
    3) define the parameter TAPEDEV to file of your backup
    4) create the files to chunks (must be exactly the same patch used before)
    If you don't know the path , when execute the "ontape -r" the first think it do is show a list with all chunks and your path+files.
    5) execute the command "ontape -r" to start the restore.
    If you have only the file of backup level 0 , answer "No" to restore with logical log and backup Level 1 .
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    I can only get version 11.10.xC2, so I gussing that I cannot restore the database?

    If I were to get a copy of the database itself (7.31TD1), would I be able to start it in 11.10.xC2?

    To access via odbc will i need to start the database? Or do I just need the database files - and odbc can access these files without the Informix software installed?

    Thanks,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    to restore , must be the same version when the backup has made.

    If your backup is version 7.31TD1, you must restore with this version... after when your IDS still online (version 7.31) that you can upgrade to version 11.10xC2 easily...
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Ok thanks for that.

    If I get a copy of the database itself (not a backup), will I be able to...
    1) Use ODBC to connect to it (without starting the databases)

    or if I need to start the databases to use ODBC..
    2) Can a 7.31TD1 database be started in IDS 11.10.xC2?

    In the end I want to get all the tables into SQL2005 if possible.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    - Restore the database with version 7.31 ... make sure all data are recovered
    - If you really want work with version 11.10... install the version 11.10 TC2 on the same machine. Shutdown the version 7.31, copy ONCONFIG to 11.10 instalation and start the instance, the upgrade is fast and automatic.
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks, I understand that.

    Ignoring backups..... If i get a copy of the database itself (not a backup).... by stopping the databases, using copy and paste and re-starting the database again.

    Will i be able to use odbc easily to access the database - if the database in on a machine that doesn't have Informix installed?
    Thats all I really want to know.

    Thanks

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311
    I don't understand what point this...

    If you want to execute a "external backup" coping the chunk files.. yes that works... you can stop the IDS, copy the files and restart. On really you don't need stop the database, you can only put it in "block checkpoint", do the copy, and back "unblocked" :
    1) "onmode -c block" or stop IDS
    2) copy chunk files
    3) "onmode -c unblock" or start IDS


    About the access with odbc... you only can access the database if IDS are ONLINE.
    The access with ODBC is a TCP/IP conection...


    I hope have helped you ...
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for your replies....you have been very helpful!

    I have got some files from a dbexport (.sql and many unl files), but when I try to dbimport them into my empty test database - I get the following error:

    25580 - System Error occured in network function.
    57 - Socket is not connected.

    I am using the command: dbimport DatabaseName -i Pathname
    I'm am using a standalone copy of IDS 11.10.xC2 Enterprise and Workgroup Edition, running on a Server2003 platform.

    Also If i were to carryout a dbexport on a live database will it keep the original database intact, and will everyone have to log out??

    I've searched for hours on the internet, and cannot find any answers.

    Hope you can help!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    Posts
    311

    Post

    About the error: 57 - Socket is not connected.
    I execute a finderr here...
    informix@codsrv222b:/opt/ids11.uc1de> finderr -57
    -57 Socket is not connected.

    An operating-system error code with the meaning shown was unexpectedly
    returned to the database server. If the error recurs, note all
    circumstances and contact Technical Support at tsmail@us.ibm.com.
    That is stranger...Do you can connect to Informix with dbaccess ??
    Probably you have miss some configuration on your SQLHOSTS. Recheck this configuration.

    The question about dbexport, the answer is yes! unfortunately dbexport command need to put a exclusive lock on the database and consequently need to log off all users...

    Manual - Migrate Guide:
    "During the export, the database is locked in exclusive mode. If dbexport cannot obtain an exclusive lock, it displays a diagnostic message and exits."
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...doc/mig148.htm

    Here, you have a online manual of informix.
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...v111/index.jsp

    Here, you can download all manuals (free of charge) :
    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data...ubs/library/#3

    Here you have a IDS Support page:
    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data...x/ids/support/
    In this page, you can search about erros. Take a look on the "Technotes" links, is very useful too.
    ________________________________________
    César Inacio Martins
    Jundiai / SP - Brasil
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - em Português
    http://www.imartins.com.br/informix - English (translated by Google).
    ________________________________________

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for your help once again.
    I created another test database and that works ok now.

    I will try to run a dbexport at my client's site in order to extract the data.
    Then dbimport the files into my test database, and then use odbc to connect to it via Progress.

    I currently only know that the backup file is 15gb, so would you be able to extimate how large the actual database is, and how long a dbexport would take to run?
    Also is there anything I should watch out for, or any extra parameters I could use in the dbexport syntax in order to increase the chance of it working correctly?

    Thanks,
    Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •