Unanswered: Replace Text in Text, Char & Varchar fields all at once?

I have followed many tutorials on selecting and replacing text in text fields, varchar fields and char fields, but I have yet to find a single script that will to all 3 based on field type. Let's assume for a moment that I don't know where all in my database a certain value that I need changed resides ... i.e., the data's tablename and fieldname. How would I go about doing the following ... or more importantly, is this even possible in a SQL only procedure?

1) Loop over entire database and get all user tables
    2) Loop over all user tables and get all fields
    3) Loop over all fields and determine the field type
    4) switch between field types and change a string of text from 'a' to 'b'

Please be gentle, I'm a procedure newb.

Provided Answers: 10
    SQLS2000
    Code:
    SELECT *
    FROM   sysobjects
    WHERE   type='U'

SELECT o.name As [tableName]
          , c.name As [column]
          , c.*
    FROM   sysobjects o
     INNER
      JOIN syscolumns c
        ON o.id = c.parent_id
    WHERE   o.type='U'
    --datatype is in syscolumns somwhere; forget the name
    Changes manually.

For SS2K5 look in the sys schema
    George
    Home | Blog

Thanks George ... that should get me started ... looking that the original post, I forgot to state this is for SQL Server 2000.

George - didn't you ask this question a bit ago and I pointed you towards one of blindman's posts?

So, this would be possible with one large procedure then correct? I need to learn more about TransactSQL procedure formatting, but I assume I could then loop over this result set by assigning variables to the results and then start my inner loop and so forth. Is that correct?
    Last edited by FastCougar; 01-22-08 at 17:07.

You should only edit column names and table names using ALTER TABLE statements.

To Pootle: you really are the archiver; I did ask this ages ago!
    George
    Home | Blog