Unanswered: How to populate one table column based off another [newbie]

Hello. I'm fairly new to databases, I've done some work on making basic Access databases with multiple tables and using SQL to populate/edit/remove entries. Please forgive me if this question has been up before.

Now I am tasked with creating an Access database based off an Excel document. In the Excel sheet some columns were automatically populated using standard "=C1+D1" logic. However I have no idea how to make that happen in Access!

I have attached a file for you to visualize what I mean. I would like for the column "Klar" to be populated by the values from "Datum" and adding a week.
    In SQL that would be something like
    UPDATE [Order] SET [Order].Klar = Datum+7;
    Can this be done automatically?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails untitled.GIF  

Hi

Welcome to the forum

First thing - what is good in a spreadsheet often <> what is good in a relational database.

The simple answer is you would not - you would simply calculate this as and when you require this information.

The long answer is get to grips with relational database design and normalisation (especially third normal form and transitive dependencies).
    http://www.tonymarston.net/php-mysql...se-design.html

HTH

Also no - in JET (the underlying database engine for Access) it cannot be done automatically. Some RDBMS products have what are called calculated columns. JET does not.

Thanks for the reply. Is there any way to make it happen as a Form data sheet? Like some kind of macro when you enter that column. Thanks for your patience

Ya can. Easiest way (as I recall) is to use VBA to set the value of the text box:
    Code:
    Me!KlarTextboxName.Value = Me!DatumTextboxName.Value + 7
    and have this fire on the afterupdate event of your datum control source.

My advice is still that this is the wrong thing to do (assuming of course that klar should always & at all times be 7 days hence from datum).