Thread: ADP Nightmare

Unanswered: ADP Nightmare

I hate access, I wish we could get away from it. I cant view employee pictures anymore, and every time theres and upgrade to a different version that means different problems. We are going to upgrade from 2003 to 2007. Good grief SQL doesnt need access, its too good for it anyways. Theres gotta be some different software out there that I can change too. Its just that I'm not a programmer. I keep hearing about Visual Fox Pro, that its easy but I have no idea. Anyone got any suggestions??

Provided Answers: 6
    run away from Foxpro. I was a wee lad when I had to fight that beast but it performs like a dog and has capacity issues. unless your environment is tiny (all of your table under 100000K rows) then I suggest you run. Of course all of my insight on the subject is 7 years old now. Computers and networks are faster.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

Provided Answers: 10
    FoxPro isn't all that bad; but I dont think it's as easy to learn as other languages, such as VB.NET, for example.

And personally I've never encountered speed issues with the system I maintain; which has 10M+ records on an SS2K backend

Desi, I've reponded to your other thread if youve not noticed yet... Silly; storing the images in the database like that!
    George
    Home | Blog

Provided Answers: 6
    Quote Originally Posted by georgev
    which has 10M+ records on an SS2K backend