Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Database Concept - How to set up a database with which I can track changes to an item

Hey peeps,

Found you guys/gals thru xtremevbtalk, a forum that recommended this site for the more specific database related questions. Hope I can fall back on you guys when I am in a tight spot concerning databases, and ofcourse hope to contribute back ... Thus far the introduction...Now on-topic:

I've been working with MSSQL for a while now, and I'm starting to understand how databases work (in a general sense of the word, as well as the T-SQL part of it). I have no experience with programming with cursors. I have had experience with creating databases in MySQL for websites (nothing fancy)

Now I need to create a program that is able to track "items" and the changes to those "items" - so that means some sort of version control is needed here. And for this, we require a database.

Let's keep things simple and say that each item has 5 properties:

- An ID [primary key]
    - A Color [Allowed to be NULL]
    - A Shape [Allowed to be NULL]
    - A Name [Allowed to be NULL]
    - A Weight [Allowed to be NULL]

A group of people are ment to keep the items up-to-date and will regularly change any of the 4 properties (ID is not changeable). In some cases, not all properties are yet known, so each property, with the exception of ID, could be NULL. My database is connected to the database where the items are stored on, and when the users alter any number of properties and press submit, I can see this. I also have full access to all of the information regarding the old and new property values of the item. This basically means I can go any way I want with the data.

What I want to do is create a database that I can query to retrieve as much information as possible about changes of items and the status of an item. Some examples of things I'd like to know:

The property values of an item x at moment y
    "The color of item 10 at 2007-12-23 14:33:13 was black"