Am I going about this the right way?

Hello everybody, this is my first real project I'm working on that I'm designing to be implemented by multiple users. The project designed for breeders of leopard geckos to be able to manage and display online their available geckos.

Since I'm just getting started, I'm not looking to implement a whole lot of features and a complex database. However, I want to start it off right so that, if need be, I can add more and more features and fields to the database.

To start off, I need a system to hold all of the information pertaining to each gecko. For now, I only want to deal with geckos for sale, on hold, or recently sold. I want to keep the following information about each gecko in the database:

- ID Number
    - Name
    - Status (For Sale/On Hold/Sold)
    - Notes (related to Status)
    - Details (related to each gecko)
    - Weight
    - Date of Weigh-in
    - Morph (basically, type of gecko)

At first I was just going to be "lazy" about it and throw everything into one table. But because this isn't a project for my own personal use, a quick/temporary solution like that just will not do... especially since I plan on going have MySQL developer certification at some point.

I'm definitely a novice when it comes to the design of an actual database. From stuff that I have read on database design, I have come up with the following idea of keeping everything organized. (See the attached Excel file.)

As you see in the file, I have the morphs stored in a separate table for the time being. The geckos will be able to be of more than one morph... so from what I read about normalization, it would be ineffective to store the "morph" attribute in a column (or columns) in the animals table.

There are lot of questions in my head, but I think that's a good enough start for now. I don't wanna confuse myself.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!
    Attached Files Attached Files

Quote Originally Posted by C14H22N2O