Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New Pick Basic Programmer

Hello all my name is Sam
    I have some database experience with access.
    I am fairly new to the Pick Basic world and have been given the task of auto populating some fileds that the user would normally type data into. These fields mainly are numbers refering to a menu item but several of them are dates that need to be calculated off the current date. I could not find a way to get the current date or perform the calculations. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by samiam44; 01-28-08 at 13:16. Reason: Didn't introduce myself properly

1. Check the JBase thread below, it'll give you a link to a great site.
    2. You probably need an F/Correlative for the Date Calculation. You create a dictionary item like so:

(do not type the stuff in italics, pressing Enter is implied with each new line below)
    ED DICT filename DATE.DIFF If a DATE.DIFF dictionary item already exists you should use a different name
    I This puts you into insert mode in the editor.
    A
    This should be the field # / attribute where the date you're comparing to is stored.
    After pressing Enter, press <Ctrl>+<Shift>+<6> 4 times, this should take you down to line 8 of the dictionary item, though you will not see that until later.

F;D;0;- F tells the system that you are using an F correlative, D is the current date, 0 should be replaced by the field number you are comparing to and the minus sign is used to subtract the stored date from the current date
    R Right justify the results
    4 Field length
    <Enter> The extra enter takes you out of insert mode
    F Flip takes you back to the top of the dictionary, needed to display the results
    L10 List 10 lines, that should be exactly how many you have at this point.

If a specific line is wrong you can replace it. Just type in the line number. Example:

3 Goes to line 3
    R Takes you into replace mode
    # Days New characters to put in line 3