Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    139

    Unanswered: Memo field dropout

    Hello;

    I have a report memo field that truncates larger memos. The table field parameters are set to memo, and the report control is set to can grow, yet the report will only display about 100 characters. When I view the table, the entire memo is viewable. Any ideas on what may cause this? I have also tried increasing the size of the physical report control, however that made no change.

    Thanks...

    Larry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    139
    Update: As it turns out I can't count. The report field displays approx 256 characters, not the 100 I indicated earlier. However, the table field still displays the entire memo.

    Thanks...

    Larry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mpls/St.Paul area
    Posts
    303
    The text box control on report has a property called 'can grow'. Make sure that is set to yes.
    John
    This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    139
    Yes... it is.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Is the underlying table/query using a formula to generate the memo field or is it a direct table field?

    The only time I have this kind of problem is when I try to encase a memo field in a formula or function before including it on my report.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    139
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    Is the underlying table/query using a formula to generate the memo field or is it a direct table field?

    The only time I have this kind of problem is when I try to encase a memo field in a formula or function before including it on my report.
    No, direct table field.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Tried the easy stuff like compacting and repairing your database files?

    Do a test. Create a new memo field and copy the contents of the old one into it. Put the new one on your report and see if it exhibits the same behavior.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    139
    Hello Strakker;

    Sorry for the late response. I did create a new field on the report, and received the same truncation of the memo. However, I created a NEW database and created a new table, query and report and the memo field worked fine with one of the same memos that truncated on the other database. I guess I will just redo the report with a completely new report to see what happens. I will let you know.

    Thanks...

    Larry

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Good luck
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •