Unanswered: Postgresql having an endless hunger for memory

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to Postgressql so I hope you guys can help me out with something. I've been searching for an answer for awhile and all though I have found many memory related topics, they all seem to be targetted at postgresql not using enough memory. I have the opposite problem.

I'm migrating a database I have from another non Postgessql database to Postgressql by selecting records from the one database, and then inserting them into tables I've created on the postgressql. Easy does it.

What I'm noticing is that with every insert the progressql server is taking on more memory. Now at first glance this might be fine, if it keeps the data that has been inserted in memory in case it is reused, thats just great, I'm all for caching. But it just keeps adding and adding and adding...
    At some point my memory is full and Windows decides to start swapping memory to disk, also great, thats what the page file is for. But it still is hungry and adds and adds and adds until the page file is full and windows decides to enlarge the page file... Eventually the page file reaches a size of 8 or 9 Gb and my server finally crashes because the disk is full.

It seems to never figure out the data in memory is no longer needed and should be released. Now what exactly this data is, I am unsure, we're talking about taking on over 10Gb of memory, but my source data is less then 1Gb.

At this point I can't rule out that this is caused by a bad implementation of the client all though I have seen the same behavior both access postgressql through ODBC and through a native data access layer that was added to the tool we're using. Also we are encountering this while running the client software on the server, as well as on a separate client machine. Its always the server that starts using odd amounts of memory.