Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: backup file of SQL Server 2000 is Restore in SQL Server 2005

    Hi Dear,

    May Any one guide me?
    I have a backup file of database which is in SQL Server 2000. it has no Extension.I want to restore this backupfile or this database in my SQL Server 2005.
    I have tried to Attach Database or attach this backup file in Sql Server2005 but it also fails .
    First I have created New database name as is on the backupfile and then I have also tried to rename this file with .bak extension and then try to restore again it fails.
    Plese Guide me urgently........

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Have you tried the restore option instead of attach?
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    backup file of SQL Server 2000 is Restore in SQL Server 2005

    Hi,Friend,
    I have tried as you suggest but it will not succeed.
    I have performed following steps:

    Create New Database name as "project" ("it is same as in Backup file")
    Select this database--->Right Click---->Task--->Restore--->
    Choose Database.

    After that Restore Database-project Window is Open.
    Then In Deatination for restore Panel
    To databaseroject
    To a Point in Time:Most Recent Possible

    In Source for Restore Panel
    From device: Click Browse Button then "Specify BackUp" Window is Open
    then in BackUp Media select File(which is ByDefault) then Click Add Button then "Locate BackUp File" Window is Open
    At that time ByDefault FileType is BackUpFile and here our BackupFile is not visible so Select FileType as All Files(*) .....hence we can see our BackUp File in this window then select it and click OK.

    After that Check the restore column Checkbox then Click OK.

    After doing all this thing i have found following ErrorMessage:
    Restore Failed for Server 'ServerName'(Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)

    Additional Information

    SystemData.SqlClient.Error:
    The backup set holds a backup of a database other than the existing 'project' database.

    Also i have tried all of this things by changing database name and also select ing restore option with Filegroups but unfortunately all give same error message.

    Plz Guide me Properly............

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    59
    You really don't need to create the database that you are trying to restore before restoring it.

    You can bring up the restore dialog by Right-Clicking on the database folder instead of Right-Clicking on a database itself.

    When you bring up the restore database dialog, and select the backup file, it should tell you what the database name is. Once you have that name put it in as the database name.

    Hopefully, that will work a little better.
    Life....Just another opportunity to live another day like a pirate....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    In a large office with bad lighting
    Posts
    1,040
    Or even better ... look up the restore topics (including filelistonly and headeronly) in BOL and run the restore via QA.

    -- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5
    Also, make sure that the database file locations that its trying to restore the transaction log and data file to exist. If not, change them to the corresponding locations on your server.

    Also, make sure you select the "Overwrite existing database" option.
    Last edited by donoghuem; 02-15-08 at 16:38.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    I have tried as you suggest but it will not succeed.
    I have performed following steps:

    Create New Database name as "project" ("it is same as in Backup file")
    Select this database--->Right Click---->Task--->Restore--->
    Choose Database.

    After that Restore Database-project Window is Open.
    Then In Deatination for restore Panel
    To databaseroject
    To a Point in Time:Most Recent Possible

    In Source for Restore Panel
    From device: Click Browse Button then "Specify BackUp" Window is Open
    then in BackUp Media select File(which is ByDefault) then Click Add Button then "Locate BackUp File" Window is Open
    At that time ByDefault FileType is BackUpFile and here our BackupFile is not visible so Select FileType as All Files(*) .....hence we can see our BackUp File in this window then select it and click OK.

    After that Check the restore column Checkbox then Click OK.

    And do this following thing which is must for restore the database from any backup file of SQL:
    when you Check the restore column Checkbox at the same time Click (Left side) Options of the Select Page window then Here Check the checkbox of Overwrite the Existing Database then Click OK.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    what error did you receive?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up

    Hey

    follow these steps and I think it'll work fine
    let's assume your Database Name is DB1 and your backup BK1 without ext.
    - right click on the Database Tasks --> Restor --> Database
    - select "From Device"
    - when you add the File just point to the folder where the backup file exist BK1 and then in File Name TextBox write The File Name in our case BK1 click Ok and OK
    - after loading the backup you'll find it in the List bellow "From Device"
    - select the Backup Info that you want to restore 'I think in your case you'll find 1 row '
    - From Left Pane "Select a Page" click on OPTION
    - Check "Overwrite the Existing Database"

    please note:
    if the backup collation is different it might not work you have to walk arround
    or if the error accure check the DB index

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thank you to Everybody.
    i have get success to restore the databse in 2005 as your suggested way.

    again thanks for i have learned so many things in very few days ....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •