Unanswered: Opening/Converting unknown database

Hi there I dunno if this is the correct place to ask this.

I got this database that is part of application, I need to convert/migrate it to any other current database like SQL server, the problem is that I dunno the database type, with his current application I know it got stored names and address, from the application I can only export 9999 records at the same time.

The database is a 300mb DAT file.

I have never done anything like this before so Any help or suggestions would be apreciatte, ty.

Database opened with Index Data Suite:
    http://b.imagehost.org/0096/index_data_suite.jpg

Database opened with Hex Editor:
    http://b.imagehost.org/0096/hex_pic.jpg
    Last edited by highlander31; 02-14-08 at 16:58.

Provided Answers: 11
    DAT is not a usual suffix for either an MSSQL data file or a backup file. But since these are not rigid standards, try the following;

1) put the file on a SQL Server (even if this is your laptop)
    2) Run the following code in Query Analyzer (or SQL WorkBench Studio)

Code:
    restore headeronly from disk = 'full path to your file'
    I expect it will give an error something like "unknown format", or similar. If not, then it is an MSSQL server backup file, and it can be restored.

Ty just tried that and I got the unknown format.

I have searching about DAT format but It can be almost anything ;(

Provided Answers: 54
    Just curious, but it would help to know which stork brought this bundle of joy to your desktop. Can you give us any clues?

-PatP

Provided Answers: 6
    let me guess. the new sales guy kept his laptop from the old job which happened to be a competitor.