Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Unanswered: Is it possible to import data into an MDE access database?

    Manual entry is so passe. And I'm trying to save myself some time. The data is in Excel.

    (Background: we use a small database for our Gala fundraiser events which was designed by a former parent in the school who willingly provided us with the MDE file, but won't pass on the MDB. We will be designing our own from scratch for next year...)
    Last edited by Gatika; 02-14-08 at 20:28.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I might consider creating a new mdb and designing the import code of the excel data into that mdb and then link the table from the mdb into the mde application. That way you have the flexibility of maintaing the import code while you can still access the data in the mde (or vice-versa (which I think is your goal) and link the tables from the mde into the mdb so you can update the tables from the mde. Then you can design your code/queries to update the mde tables as well as maintain your import code all in the mdb app.)
    Last edited by pkstormy; 02-15-08 at 01:29.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Can you link tables into the MDE..?
    George
    Home | Blog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Good question George. I'm pretty sure you can link tables into an mdb FROM an mde but I'm not sure on the linking the tables into an mde part. I just guessed that you could.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,848
    Access should allow you to import data into an MDE.
    Lou
    使大吃一惊
    "Lisa, in this house, we obey the laws of thermodynamics!" - Homer Simpson
    "I have my standards. They may be low, but I have them!" - Bette Middler
    "It's a book about a Spanish guy named Manual. You should read it." - Dilbert


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    depends how well locked down the MDE is, and where its data is.

    if you know the data table and the format, as Paul has said I'd be minded to create a new access MDB that pumps the data into the MDE's tables. But that presumes that the tables aren't secuirty protected.. of course they are probably protected using the workgroup file.. so I'd want to have a skim through that to find a suitably juicy userid

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •