Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1

    Unanswered: Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a01ad'

    I am getting the following error in my regular ASP VB script section when I use the line
    Server.CreateObject("dll name")

    Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a01ad'
    ActiveX component can't create object

    The dll I am using is registered on the server with no errors when doing so.

    Does anyone know what can be done to fix the problem? Please can someone help.

    Server is Win2003 64 bit SP 2
    Last edited by plsh; 02-20-08 at 06:17.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    You can't simply create the object; you have to "assign" it to an object variable.

    Example
    Code:
    <%
    set conn=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    conn.Provider="Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
    conn.Open "c:/webdata/northwind.mdb"
    %>
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1
    Yes I know that, and I have done so ie:
    Set obj = Server.CreateObject("DBExec.CExec")

    The part that is falling over is the Server.CreateObject, that is why I only mentioned that part.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Where did you get this component?

    Its possible you are trying to use a component that was not designed to be called in this manor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1
    The component works well on other servers. The only difference now is that the server I am trying to get this to work on is a Win 2003 x64, where the other had been Win 2000 x86, can this be the problem and if so is there a way for the object to work on a 64 bit server?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, Nederland
    Posts
    450

    Mdac

    did you run the latest Mdac version think you need the 2.8 version

    see allso :

    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms945464.aspx

    http://sleepyhead81.blogspot.com/200...ection-in.html
    Greetz Marvels -^.^-
    Developments : VB4 Through .Net; Basic; DOS ; CNC ; Sinclair
    Databases : SQL Server Through 2005; Access 3 Through 2003 ; Oracle 8 & 9.i ;
    OS : Win 3.11 Through XP ; NortonComander ; DOS

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1
    As far as I can establish the server does have the latest MDAC.

    The component is a Microsoft component and the description of the component when looking at the properties is Help Desk Sample DB Executive Components

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, Nederland
    Posts
    450

    rights

    Are you able to create other objects (dll)

    Otherwise see if you got the rights to call to the dll
    Greetz Marvels -^.^-
    Developments : VB4 Through .Net; Basic; DOS ; CNC ; Sinclair
    Databases : SQL Server Through 2005; Access 3 Through 2003 ; Oracle 8 & 9.i ;
    OS : Win 3.11 Through XP ; NortonComander ; DOS

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1
    I am able to create other objects and did have rights to the dll and in the end, a very long day yesterday, rewrote everything with a dll that would work and do what I needed. Thanks to all for your suggestions.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1
    Very strange, the problem just went away after numerous reboots.....very strange.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    You know you need to fix activex error when you see the message runtime error 800a01ad activex. So, you must check the health of your registry and do the necessary repairs. However, you should be knowledgeable on computers so you do not make things worse. Then again, you can always download a registry cleaner to clean up your registry. Just make sure that you get it from a reliable source.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    285
    Provided Answers: 1
    Registry is fine, done a check. What I do not understand is how can it not work on one machine and on another, same specced, machine at the same time it does work? And the code is associated with the Session Variables.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •