What direction to take?

I notice there are so many programming languages and so many database servers. I went to a private computer college, and they had a few database classes (But my private college sort of sucked, so I am going to attend community college classes) I got a bachelors of science from the private college but just ended up being technical support for a few different companies for the past few years for different products.

In the back of my mind I thought I was going to study for an A+ certification, and go into the Help desk career. But I came to the realization that I really do not like the Help desk type job, after being technical support for a few years and dealing with constant people yelling at me, and their problems. I can fix computer problems etc. but do not feel like doing that so directly as my career.

I more recently am getting really interested in database design. I already have a basic understanding of ERD's and normalization, relationships etc. I have various family members whose businesses they work for are using legacy database systems. I always secretly been interested in databases and wanting to remedy their problem.

I intend to design a database for my grandfathers company where they are using an old Dbase2 database system. I purchased a book on Dbase2 for beginners just to get a good understanding of the Dbase2 structure.

I purchased Database Design for Mere Mortals by Michael Hernandez. I am really enjoying that read. I purchased Filemaker 9 Missing Manual. That is my next read, before I plan on creating the database in Filemaker. I am really enjoying reading these books, and am very hopeful at the prospect of designing a remarkable database. I think I have finally found what sector of Information Technology I can be passionate about.