Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

A writer's market database

Hello everybody,

I'm new to these forums, and so this being my first post I thought I'd also introduce myself while also asking for a bit of review/help on a project I'm working on.

I'm a writer, and I'm creating a database for managing my markets and submissions. I've worked with a couple databases in the past, but I've never created one before, and so I'm going off just a bit of reading on some of the proper techniques for creating a sound database.

The database I'm creating is in OpenOffice.org's Base. I don't purchase, and neither can I afford, Microsoft products, so I use and try to help out with whatever free software is available. This is a limitation and also a blessing for someone in my field -- that being dirt-poor writer -- so I'm also working with what I have available. Also, from what I understand, Base will make setting up my forms, and reports fairly easy, instead of having to program something, and I can link data from the database to form letters and such that I write in Writer -- all very much like what I understand MS Access is capable of doing.

Anyway, all that aside, what I'm looking for help on is whether I've managed to get the tables and associations correct with what I've come up with so far, based on the notes and requirements that I made for the database.

The database is here:
    http://sak.102010.org/workshop/markets_db.tar.gz

The notes are included in the above archive as a text file, but I'll also include them at the bottom of this post.

As I mentioned, I've never designed a database before, so any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Sak.

Writing Markets Database Design

Publishers

Publishers should contain specific data related to what the publisher offers and does. It's a company or organization that purchases works by authors for publication.

Does it allow electronic submissions?
    Does it allow simultaneous submissions?