Thread: Mcdba

Unanswered: Mcdba

Hi,

I have been a DBA for about 5 years now but I have never considered getting MCDBA certification until now..

Is it worth doing?

Whats the best way to revise for the exam? i.e are there any free online tests ect?

I've been doing this crap for 15 years, and the only certification I ever got was Novell CNE back in ye oldern days. I don't think anything substitutes for experience. I personally think certification is good for those that do not have much work experience.

Are you (or will you be) looking for a new position with another company?
    Will you get a large pay raise?
    Will others hold you in high esteem, fall down at your feet, and pledge to be your minion?

Any one of the above answered yes might make it worth it.

-- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

I am a contractor so always keeping an eye on the job market tbh

I dont think it will make any difference to my wages, but it may make a difference to my ability to be put forward for more roles.

I was reading a forum earlier an someone was saying they couldn't get a job because everyone is always asking for Microsoft qualifications, so I was wondering if that market is changing and experience is not held in such high regard anymore.

Provided Answers: 10
    prospective employers who aren't IT savvy often see qualifications over experience (think about the last person from HR who interviewd you ).

Employers who know what they're loking for don't care about certificates, they just need to know you can do the job; which is where experience is where it's at.

So having both can't be a bad thing; especialy as a contractor, because you "move jobs" more often than most of us!
    George
    Home | Blog

Provided Answers: 6
    how many times must we have the same old discussion about this...

http://www.dbforums.com/query.php?do...RID%3A11&hl=en