Unanswered: protecting records from being updated and deleted

Hi I am using sql server 2005 express and would like to keep all my fields from being both updated and deleted.

In other words, once I create a new record, I would like to have it protected from being deleted and I dont want the field values to be updated/changed from the values initially entered. Is there a way to this without running triggers or changing database permissions and user roles?

I tried making the database read-only, but then of course i cant add new records.

Thanks

Provided Answers: 54
    There is no way to prevent the administrator and/or database owner from making changes, since they actually control the permissions within the database. You could certainly do this for "ordinary" users easily enough.

Is this a homework question?

-PatP

no this isnt a homework question. im just new to sql server 2005 (only been on it for about a week now).

Anyways, here's the situation in detail.

I work in a research lab where one of our machines automatically collects data and and writes it into a sql server database. The problem is that in order for this data to be approved of by the FDA, nobody should be able to delete the data or change it in any way; only add on to it. I was looking for a way to do this without changing permissions. The reason for this is because everyone in the lab uses this single computer and it is always signed on as the administrator.

Is there anyway to change the permissions of the database administrator to deny them access to delete and update? Can anything be denied to the administrator?

Or will we have to create a seperate windows user/login and deny permissions to them?

Provided Answers: 54
    No, by definition there is no way to remove permissions from the SQL Server Administrator. There are many options that would get the same net effect, but those all have one or more drawbacks that are not good ideas.