Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    165

    Unanswered: Exclude column for replication in SQL Server 2000

    Hi. I'm creating a new publication for replication. There are a few columns on our main database I do not want published as they contain some confidential information. When I go to create a new publication, I go through the wizard and I select the option to filter rows vertically. I uncheck the columns I don't want published and the wizard completes without any errors.

    When I go to start the Snapshot agent to create the database on new server, it gets error saying it cannot find certain columns--the columns I do not want published to begin with.

    Am i doing something wrong? I appreciate any help you may provide!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    In a large office with bad lighting
    Posts
    1,040
    what service pack?

    -- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    165
    Service Pack 4.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    In a large office with bad lighting
    Posts
    1,040
    Snapshot or transactional replication?

    -- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    165
    Transactional replication.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    In a large office with bad lighting
    Posts
    1,040
    Would you provide the schema of the table you are attempting to replicate and indicate the columns that you are removing from the replication. I want to set up a test to see if I can duplicate your problem.

    -- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    165
    Code:
    ID (Identity, int)
    LastName (varchar)
    FirstName (varchar)
    DOB (date)
    --SSN (varchar, REMOVED)
    Address (varchar)
    City (varchar)
    State (varchar)
    Zip (varchar)
    ...and about 20 more columns. Do you need all these columns?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    In a large office with bad lighting
    Posts
    1,040
    Just finished testing this setup. Replicating from SQL Server 2000 sp4 to SQL Server 2000 sp4 using third SQL Server 2000 sp4 as distributor. Created the following schema table:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Person] (
     [ID] [int] IDENTITY (1, 1) NOT NULL ,
     [LastName] [varchar] (20) COLLATE Latin1_General_BIN NULL ,
     [FirstName] [varchar] (20) COLLATE Latin1_General_BIN NULL ,
     [DOB] [datetime] NULL ,
     [SSN] [varchar] (15) COLLATE Latin1_General_BIN NULL ,
     [Address] [varchar] (30) COLLATE Latin1_General_BIN NULL ,
     [City] [varchar] (30) COLLATE Latin1_General_BIN NULL ,
     [State] [varchar] (20) COLLATE Latin1_General_BIN NULL) 
    ON [PRIMARY]
    GO
    ALTER TABLE [dbo].[Person] WITH NOCHECK ADD 
     CONSTRAINT [PK_Person] PRIMARY KEY  CLUSTERED 
     (
      [ID]
     )  ON [PRIMARY] 
    GO
    Set up subscription for transactional replication excluding SSN column. Then Pushed replication to second server using distributor. Replication added a column to the source table

    Code:
     [msrepl_tran_version] [uniqueidentifier] NOT NULL
    No problems encountered.

    Look at the differences between your setup and mine to see if you can find a difference that could be causing your problem.

    -- This is all just a Figment of my Imagination --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •