Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    64

    Unanswered: DB2 database connection

    I want to connect to a DB2 server. I don't have any database . Please tell me to which database i need to connect.

    Which is the default database in DB2(like MASTER in SQL Server)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    88
    there is no default database(or master database). you have a instance and you have databases under the instances. do a db2 list db directory to see the databases...read more about db2.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    64
    Then, how to connect from command line using
    db2 connect to <Database>
    command

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    88
    yes,
    db2 connect to <database>

    do
    "db2 list db directory"
    you can see the databases on the server

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Please tell me to which database i need to connect.
    you have a answer in your question.
    if database exist find out using which schema you need to connect.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    You can ATTACH to an instance and CONNECT to a database (not to a schema).
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •