Newbie warning - looking for programmer

Hi there,

I'm a newbie here - I stumbled onto this through vbulletin.com - I have a vbulletin forum set up for a hobby site of mine.

Anyway - I have a somewhat intensive database driven and email contact project I'm working on. I have NO IDEA where to go about finding someone who can handle the work and excel for me. It can best be described as a priceline.com format for a different industry that would include automatic contact to users via email and a shopping cart. It also includes specific user pages with star ratings and testimonials.

What type of database system should I look at and where should I start my search for a programmer? I have the look and the layout of the home page done as well as many of the other pages, but it's the back end of the system that I need completed.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you may have!

Before deciding which type of database you need, you need to figure out how much data you'll be dealing with. How many entries a day? What type of information? And so on... A small database can be handled by Excel, larger databases would require Access, even larger ones would probably need SQL or something similar. Once you've decided on the type of database you'll need, you can post your specs in the appropriate forum.
    When it rains, it pours.

Thanks! I'm thinking larger and longer term - so it sounds like SQL would be the way to go. I'd rather have the capacity now than scramble later.

I'll post over there.

Thanks!

Greg

Question Newbie warning - looking for programmer

Hi there,

I'm a newbie on this forum but have another so I do understand and hope I'm within the rules of this forum to post this here.