Unanswered: postgre vs MySQL

Hi,

I am a database professional but have never used Postgre. My client was exploring the posiblity of using Postgre instead of Mysql and wnated to know the comments from the community.
    I waned you people you post your views on the following comparision points
    1] Performance
    2] Scalablity
    3] community support
    4] Speed
    5] ease of use
    6] robustness

Any major clients of the two.
    You can add you own points too.

Thanks ,
    Rahul.

I'll first point you to the FAQ which is the first thread in this forum. There are several threads which discuss MySQL versus PostgreSQL. Some of the articles are dated, though.

In particular, take a look at the article which describres the Tweakers.net testing. Tweakers was testing various server configurations - it is essentially a hardware review. They were using PostgreSQL and MySQL to test the servers. However, the results show some very interesting points, in regards to how MySQL and PostgreSQL respond under heavy load.

From a historical viewpoint, MySQL was built for speed, whereas PostgreSQL was built to comply to standards, provide enterprise level features and impeccable data integrity. Because of the emphasis on standards, data integrity, and features, PostgreSQL had always been slower than MySQL.

MySQL has slowly added some of the features that an enterprise database needs, whereas PostgreSQL has continuously been optimized to improve speed while not impacting features or data integrity.

Right now, you just can't say that MySQL is faster than PostgreSQL. Especially when you compare apples to apples (When using InnoDB to ensure data integrity for instance) Especially as the number of concurrent users increase, PostgreSQL shines.

And, even though MySQL has added some badly needed features, they are still somewhat deficient in comparison to PostgreSQL.

Anyway, re your points...