Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Red face Unanswered: Backup-Restore problem

    I have a server where I can't restore backups, even if they are taken at the same server (see command-lines below).
    It is DB2 8, fixpack 10

    Please, anyone who can help?

    D:\>db2 create db xxx on d
    DB20000I The CREATE DATABASE command completed successfully.

    D:\>db2 backup db xxx to d:\x

    Backup successful. The timestamp for this backup image is : 20080311163520


    D:\>db2 restore db xxx from d:\x
    SQL2570N A database cannot be restored on a platform that does not match the
    platform on which the backup image was created.

    D:\>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What does the db2ckbkp system command say about the backup image?

    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...e/r0002585.htm

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    ERROR - Unable to migrate media header from image



    =====================
    MEDIA HEADER REACHED:
    =====================
    Server Database Name -- XXX
    Server Database Alias -- XXX
    Client Database Alias -- XXX
    Timestamp -- 20080311163520
    Database Partition Number -- 0
    Instance -- DB2
    Sequence Number -- 1
    Release ID -- 900
    Database Seed -- 4856D57E
    DB Comment's Codepage (Volume) -- 0
    DB Comment (Volume) --
    DB Comment's Codepage (System) -- 0
    DB Comment (System) --
    Authentication Value -- 255
    Backup Mode -- 0
    Includes Logs -- 0
    Compression -- 0
    Backup Type -- 0
    Backup Gran. -- 0
    Status Flags -- 1
    System Cats inc -- 1
    Catalog Partition Number -- 0
    DB Codeset -- IBM-1252
    DB Territory --
    LogID -- 1205249643
    LogPath -- D:\DB2\NODE0000\SQL00001\SQLOGDIR\
    Backup Buffer Size -- 9048064
    Number of Sessions -- 1
    Platform -- 5



    ERROR: Failed to verify media header. Cannot continue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Looks like a corrupted backup image. You will need to do the backup again.

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    This was just to display the problem. It doesnt matter how many backups I take or what database I backup, it's allways the same

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Well it looks like your backup images are getting corrupted for whatever reason. You have 2 choices:

    1) upgrade to the latest FixPack, which is 16. FP10 is 2 1/2 years old. Lots of bug fixes since then.

    2) open a PMR with IBM.

    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    My problem is, as you say, I'm not up to date with the fix-packs.
    But, the application we have only allow us to go to fp-10, and IBM will not touch this unless we upgrade.
    I have 11 other servers, runing the same application, same hardware, software, fp-levels (both DB2 and windows....), but the problem only occur here

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Does the application actually not work if DB2 is greater than FP 10? There are only bug fixes in all FPs after 10, so functionally they are all the same. If the application does not check the FP level of the DB, then you should be able to upgrade DB2. You should test this first.

    If you don't upgrade, then you are going to have to figure out what is different about this one server, or wrong with it.

    Andy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    Well, it's a hospital system, containing patient data, and if we go above fix-level 10 the manufacturer of the system will not touch the system, and if something happen then I'm really in the shit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Then you are just going to have to figure out why this one server is corrupting the backup image. Try doing the backup by specifying some of the options.
    Try putting it someplace else.

    Andy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by gorros17
    Well, it's a hospital system, containing patient data, and if we go above fix-level 10 the manufacturer of the system will not touch the system, and if something happen then I'm really in the shit
    I don't think there is anything wrong with FP10 (related to your problem) unless your DB2 binary code has been corrupted. You could trying reinstalling FP10.

    Is the D: drive a local drive, or a Windows share drive that exists on another computer?
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    It is a local disk. And, I have tried doing backups to other disks, with the same result.
    I am alos a little reluctant to reinstall something unless I know I can get back to where I am now. I don't want to find myself in a situation where the application stop to work, and all my backups are useless

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Are those the exact commands that you are issuing, or are you using backup compression?
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    No, these are the exact commands. No options or extras

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Like I said earlier, try some of the options (COMPRESS, PARALLELISM, etc) to see if you can get a valid backup image. If you are still having problems, then you should open a PMR with IBM.

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •