Unanswered: DataBase Design Question

Hi,

I am a newbie to database design and have a database design question. This is my problem.

I have a certain profile (as i call it) which contains information about a student. The profile table is something like this

Profile(student name,
    student age,
    profile name,
    profile id,
    college name,
    fee,
    semester
    ); etc.

Now i must add information about the subjects he takes. What is the best way to do that? The subjects could be modified at any time, more subjects may be added or old subjects deleted.

I was thinkign of having a separate table Subjects(sub1, sub2, sub3) etc. and somehow relate it to the profile.

Also, let the first profile be named profile 1 (say). There can also exist another profile (profile 2) for the same student with just the subjects being different from profile 1.

Please tell me is the best way to design some thing like this? Also how can i link the two tables etc. Thanks a lot for ur help.

Quote Originally Posted by NishaSharma
    Hi,

I am a newbie to database design and have a database design question. This is my problem.

I have a certain profile (as i call it) which contains information about a student. The profile table is something like this

Profile(student name,
    student age,
    profile name,
    profile id,
    college name,
    fee,
    semester
    ); etc..

Now i must add information about the subjects he takes. What is the best way to do that? The subjects could be modified at any time, more subjects may be added or old subjects deleted.

I was thinkign of having a separate table Subjects(sub1, sub2, sub3) etc. and somehow relate it to the profile.

Also, let the first profile be named profile 1 (say). There can also exist another profile (profile 2) for the same student with just the subjects being different from profile 1.

Please tell me is the best way to design some thing like this? Also how can i link the two tables etc. Thanks a lot for ur help.