Unanswered: Adding comments to metadata

Did some searching and didn't seem to find what I'm looking for. I'm pretty new to SQL Server (most of my experience is on DB2 for z/OS).

I'm building some new tables, and want to find a way to add comments to the metadata for the column. In DB2 the syntax is:

COMMENT ON COLUMN TB_CREATOR.TB_NAME.COLUMN_NAME IS 'comments here';

OR

COMMENT ON TB_CREATOR.TB_NAME (
    COLUMN1 IS ' comment here',
    COLUMN2 IS ' comment here',
    );

Is there anything like this in SQL Server?

Thanks!

anyone????

EXEC sys.sp_addextendedproperty
    @name
    =N'Caption'
    ,@value=N'Text I wish to Add'
    ,@level0type=N'SCHEMA',@level0name=N'dbo'
    ,@level1type=N'TABLE',@level1name=N'MyTable'
    ,@level2type=N'COLUMN',@level2name=N'MyField'
    "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Albert Einstein
    "Everything should be made as complex as possible, so I look Cleverer." - Application Developer

Provided Answers: 12
    The problem with this approach is, that there doesn't seem to be a way to actually retrieve that information again.

The Visual Studio tools will display extended properties in a separate dialog (pretty clumsy to navigate there, at least with the Express version

sp_columns and sp_tables will never return information in the "REMARKS" column of their result.
    The documentation either says "This field always returns NULL" (sp_columns) or "SQL Server does not return a value for this column" (sp_tables)

So these "extended properties" seem to be pretty useless, as far as I can tell. At least not a replacement for the very handy ADD COMMENT that other DBMS (DB2, Oracle, Postgres) support.

most tools expect the name of the property to be MS_Description. if you name them with that name, they will show up in the Description fields of various tools, like SSMS, VS, etc.

also SqlSpec will pick them up - see link in my sig.

Quote Originally Posted by jezemine