Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233

    Unanswered: Select Queries Only

    Users want to create there own Select Queries.

    Is there anyway you can allow a user access to the query screen and restrict it so they can only use and create Select Queries.

    I am happy if it means linking another application to the database but even with this I still cannot find a way of restricting it.

    Or any other ideas greatly recieved.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    the other approach may be to create you own version of the query browser, and save programatically that query
    alternatively create a query with every thing in it, but allow the user to select what columns they need

    i suppose it depends on how the query is to be used at a later date.. do they jsut want to look at results, is it to go into a report....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    This sounds like a job for the query builder I have been working on... I'll try upload it to the code bank tonight
    George
    Home | Blog

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    Okedokee - I shall look forward to that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Sounds great George!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    I must warn you; the module is still in it's early stages of development; it's not polished, there will be bugs, but the basic principles are there.

    Please note that it doesn't let you do any advanced queries; no aggregation, simple where clause(s) and sorting only.


    Note to Paul: You've seen the app, any problems with me uploading it in it's current state?
    George
    Home | Blog

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    George
    Home | Blog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Cool I get to download it first
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Needs a between operator
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Between can still be achieved with the other operators - lazy bones
    George
    Home | Blog

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    No it can't. When you select fieldname > 0 the field disappears and can't be used again!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Oops, slight oversight there...
    Unforunately that's been sat on the back burner for a good few months now, other projects have taken precedence!

    I am (and will continue to do so) noting all comments and will one day pick it back up and give it a good seeing to!
    George
    Home | Blog

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Yes, I can fully appreciate that!

    I'm sure I can adapt the code to add these things!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Feel free
    If you make any improvements; give us a nod and I'll gladly take a look and update the code bank entry - full credit to the change authors, obviously
    George
    Home | Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •