Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Suburb of Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    56

    Unanswered: Crystal Reports X to Access 2003

    Pulling data from a data warehouse using Crystal Reports; then exporting the data from the report into Microsoft Access. When I do that the field lengths change. I would like to keep the field length from the Crystal Report. Any ideas on how I can do that?

    Thanks,

    Krazy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Can you explain what you mean by "the field lengths change"?
    How are you importing the data into Access?
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    Set the field length in the MS Access table to the length you require.

    This will not change when importing data. It may throw up an error if the data you are importing has a greater length or different type. But if you want it to be the same this should be ok.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Suburb of Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    56

    Crystal X to Access 2003

    Thanks for you replies.
    I am importing the data from a Crystal Report (I don't yet have access to the data via MS-Access, but hope to get it soon).

    When I import not only does the field length cahnge but the field name reverts to the Crystal Report field name (which I can't change).

    Krazy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    Are you importing into an existing table or creating a new one each time?

    And, How are you importing the data?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Suburb of Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    56

    Crystal X to Access 2003 problem

    I'm creating a new table every time because Crystal Reports won't let me import into the existing table. I get the error message "Table already exists. Please use another table name or you can retry after removing the current table."
    I am creating a report using Crystal Reports and then exporting to a new table in my Access database. I then fix the field names (They are very long field names in Crystal, and Access cuts them off. I cannot change the field name in Crystal.), delete the old table, rename the new table to the old table name, and re-establish the relationships.

    Krazy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    233
    I would export the Crystal Report to Excel (Data Only option) and import it from there. Create a permanant table in MS Access with the required field names, types and lengths.

    It may be an idea to create a Excel template with the field headings and copy your data into that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Suburb of Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    56

    Crystal X to Access 2003 issue

    Thanks! I was hoping to avoid that step but I'll try it.
    I appreciate all your help.

    Krazy (like a fox?) Kasper

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •