Unanswered: Total Newb - connect to pervasive database from PHP

OK let me start off here - just starting to learn PHP (as well as Linux)- dont know very much...but am a programmer of 5 years in C++, C#, Java....

Here at my office, we have a database server that hosts a Pervasive 9.0 database - we are trying to write a new INTRANET so our users can look up stuff from our database without having login credentials to log into our main software. This would allow for easy item lookup and some other really cool stuff - we are trying to develop a site in which we allow certain users to do certain things - so if you are logged in you can do this, otherwise, you cant do a thing. ANYWAYS, i have set up an Ubuntu desktop installation, and installed LAMP. PHP does work, and i have been screwing around getting some code done to try it out. HOWEVER, I cannot for the life of me get connected to our pervasive server. I have installed the ODBC package for php5, and see that the odbc commands are available, but i cant seem to get connected. All the resources i have been seeing online seem to show how to connect to servers that are a local DSN on that machine - when i have connected in the past, i have always used a connection string and provided the database name, and never had to have the DSN be local...we simply refer to the server by IP.

Can anyone out there help me get connected? i am a total newb to linux as well, and am totally lost as to which files to edit, and which to leave alone.

i KNOW that mySQL is working cause i have a joomla installation set up and that is working - its just connecting to our production database i cant get working....once i connect, i am good cause i know SQL fairly well.

TIA - i GREATLY appreciate any help!
    Last edited by mominsky; 04-07-08 at 12:23.

Provided Answers: 4
    First, why Linux for PHP? PHP runs on Windows. If you're PSQL is also running on Windows (typical) then you can use IIS and PHP (or ASP.NET, or ASP).