Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Error 3734

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38

    Unanswered: Error 3734

    "The database has been placed in a state by user 'Admin' on machine 'machinename' that prevents it from being opened or locked."

    Excuse me if this is elsewhere, couldnt see it. I have looked at thread below, but dont think this really answers my question.

    I have a single database with no added security on it that has always had shared access to it, but recently it has started giving the above error message. The only link i can give is that a newish macro includes a reference to currentDB (this was written for me by a colleague who knows more about access than me).

    is there any way of getting the database back to shared use?

    MTIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    This usually occurs when an object other than a query is open in design view. If you post the VB of the macro, it would help determine if the macro is the cause.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Maybe this post will help:

    http://www.dbforums.com/showpost.php...7&postcount=11

    It has 2 links to Microsoft posts which refer to the error similar to yours.

    Have ALL users exit the mdb and make sure to compact/repair the database. If the *.ldb still shows (and you are absolutely sure no users are in the mdb), then have the network administrator manually delete the *.ldb and then compact/repair again. If he/she cannot delete the *.ldb file, someone has still got to be in it (or MSAccess is hungup and running in their Task Manager)
    Last edited by pkstormy; 04-15-08 at 11:02.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by pkstormy
    Maybe this post will help:

    http://www.dbforums.com/showpost.php...7&postcount=11

    It has 2 links to Microsoft posts which refer to the error similar to yours.

    Have ALL users exit the mdb and make sure to compact/repair the database. If the *.ldb still shows (and you are absolutely sure no users are in the mdb), then have the network administrator manually delete the *.ldb and then compact/repair again. If he/she cannot delete the *.ldb file, someone has still got to be in it (or MSAccess is hungup and running in their Task Manager)
    cheers mate, will try that in a mo. I did see you post on the above link, which was where i got the thought about the currentdb bit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by rogue
    This usually occurs when an object other than a query is open in design view. If you post the VB of the macro, it would help determine if the macro is the cause.
    ' Produce Cluster Exports button

    Private Sub Command14_Click()

    Dim Set1 As Recordset, DB1 As Database
    Set DB1 = CurrentDb
    Set Set1 = DB1.OpenRecordset("Clusters", dbOpenDynaset)
    'savepath = Left$(CurrentDb.Name, InStr(CurrentDb.Name, Dir(CurrentDb.Name, vbDirectory)) - 1)
    savepath = "\\Dfs60708\106007001\workgroup\PRU\Mobile Database\mobile exports\"

    'remove old copies of excel files
    Set1.MoveFirst
    Do Until Set1.EOF
    strFilename = savepath & Set1![Cluster] & ".xls"
    If Len(Dir(strFilename)) > 0 Then
    Kill strFilename
    End If
    Set1.MoveNext
    Loop


    'create new excel files
    Set1.MoveFirst
    Do Until Set1.EOF
    Forms![reports menu]![Cluster] = Set1![Cluster]
    DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet acExport, acSpreadsheetTypeExcel9, "ClusterQry", savepath & Set1![Cluster] & ".xls", True
    Set1.MoveNext
    Loop

    MsgBox "Cluster data has been saved to the Mobile Exports folder.", vbInformation, "Telecoms"


    End Sub


    does this help?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by wartroll
    cheers mate, will try that in a mo. I did see you post on the above link, which was where i got the thought about the currentdb bit.
    seems to have worked...strange that

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    38
    aaaarrrggghhhhhhh. its doing it again, tried the ol compact and repair, but that hasnt worked this time!
    when colleague is logged in it gives a file as filetype access.locked.9 (hidden/system file?) could this be what is causing it?
    (I know it will open a file when it is in use, but the fact it is showing as a locked file i mean)

    cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •