Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Question Unanswered: Access 97 > error 3190

    at work I work with access 97, trying to create a database that copies a state form. There will be 153 total fields. Creating the table and field number 154, I got this message
    "Too many fields defined" OK then "Errors were encountered durning the save operation, Fields were not added. Properties were not updated." OK then
    ERROR 3190
    You tried to perform an operation that involves more than 255 fields. Reduce the number of fields, and then try the operation again.

    But I only have created 153 fields (so far) in the table ! I know its alot but this is the form that needs to be created, all one page.

    Is there a way to over ride the amount of fields in a DB/table/form?

    I am not a professional database developer, just an office worker trying to make things easier. So go easy on the DB lingo. better just to show me if it involves codes.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    817
    Provided Answers: 5

    Try this

    Copy the fields and paste them in a new table
    or make a copy of the table and see if you can then edit it

    Also even though the field limit may be 255 - I think (and do not quote me) there my be something to do with the amount if unique (not necessarily primary) fields that you may have as well.
    Dale Houston, TX

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,418
    Provided Answers: 7
    I would be looking Why so many feilds in one table
    can break the feilds into catagroys and link them to each other.
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    There is a limit on the number of indexes (indices) you can have that I seem to remember having an effect on the number of fields you can have. Try setting the Indexed property to No for as many fields as you can and then try again.

    Curious... what application would require so many fields? What are you doing?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    I've seen that sort of number of fields in a questionaire / survey
    I've also seen it on a horrifically badly designed order / product matrix


    one thing to bear in mind when you come to creating queries you are also limited to 255 columns.. thats the thing that really blew the questionaire into the nightmare class

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Even in a survey you can store each question in a record and each answer in a record.... but I must admit I haven't made a lot of databases that are questionnaires.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    Even in a survey you can store each question in a record and each answer in a record.... but I must admit I haven't made a lot of databases that are questionnaires.

    theres lots of thing you 'can' do, but in a legacy system where the desinger has done a runner and delivery deadline approachs your choices are limted... especailly if there is existing data.. and lots of it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    thanks so far....

    ok,this form that I so far have created to mimic the official state form has many check boxes, fields for names, DOB, etc. I can break the fields down and create 6 seperate tables with a one to one relationship thru an "Auto Number" (I supose)
    When we need to look up a case, which needs to have ALL the infromation that will be on all 6 tables, we would look up by Case Number which would be in Table 1, or by last name which would be in table 2 and 3 (two different names Table 1 has info on vehicle 1, driver, owner, and table 2 has info on vehicle 2 etc) Other tables have data in reguards to the crash itself.
    Now with 6 seperate tables, can I still put all the fields from all 6 tables onto one form? Tried but only gives option for choice of one table, so I thought that I'd create a query with all of the tables and I got the same warning that was posted in my original post.
    So, with the 6 tables, whats the best relationship? I can't see anything simular so I made a auto number for all the tables and connected table 1 "case number" to table 2 "auto number" and then "auto number table 2" to "auto number table 3" and so on. This will all be well and good if I can then put all 6 tables on ONE form.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •