Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

new to database design, seeking consult

Hi

I am an architectural graduate student with nil experience designing and developing databases. I understand how they work on a schematic level though I am not up on the terminology. I have played only superficially with Access and Visio and I understand that Blog type websites have databases (controlled by PHP?) managing any posts...

What I am looking to do s create a database that I can then feed some visualization program - think cytoscape, semaspace, tulip, prefuse etc etc - that would illustrate relationships between different entries in a network form...show how they are related, and hopefully be able to have some sort of "pivot" (MS terminology) function where the self-organizing nodes of the network would readjust as per the field being queried.

Here's the real scenario, which also brings me to the real reason I am here : I am looking at the design of a zoo, and I am building a database of animals which will describe a number of attributes about each species. The question I have is how a REAL database designer would handle a scenario where there are potentially multiple entries for a field...like if I wanted a field for the continents you would find a particular species on - what would you do if there are multiple continents? If I were to have a drop down menu with a number of choices i would only be able to choose one. The only way I have imagined it potentially working is to have a number of continent fields, say 3, and some animals might fill those in while others might not.

Is that how YOU would do it? Can you suggest a better way, or a better place to ask this question?

Also, if you can think of a better workflow to get from the bits of info I am culling from the web, to inputting it into Excel and then bringing it into one of the aforementioned packages...I would appreciate hearing your thoughts.

Thanks!