Database for medical research

Hi everyone!!

I am really pleased to have found this forum, as I wasn't sure where to get help!!

I am learning about, and building, fairly simple databases for medical research but having some trouble. First of all, I am using openoffice 2.4 (with the default database engine) on a ubuntu (hardy) platform. I have successfully created a single table database (for contacts) and created tables and forms, but I am having trouble setting up the relationships between my tables.

I have looked at the OO help files and examples (and other forum entries) but I can't get through the jargon (complete novice when it comes to databases).

I have three tables:

1. Clinical Info (includes: ID, name, sex, length of symptoms etc)
    2. Initial clinical exam (includes: weakness of specific muscles eg r elbow flexion, r elbow extension etc)
    3. Neurophysiological data (includes nerve conduction study results, eg r median n wrist CMAP, l median n wrist CMAP)

I want each patient to be given an ID, then have that as the common field between tables, in other words when I enter data into my clinical features table I want the ID to be entered into the other two tables ready for me to enter the data that corresponds with that patient.

I have put an ID field in all three tables (with auto increment in the clinical features) and defined the relationships between the ID fields in all the other tables, with update and delete cascades enabled, but when I enter a record in one table, the there is no entry in the other tables.

What am I doing wrong?

I'd be really grateful for any assistance, I'm keen to get my research progressing asap.

Thanks in advance!!

Why do you want to create records in other tables? You know that patients should register before having any treatment, so it is possible to have a patient with no clinical information stored against them.

Create each record as you need it
    George
    Home | Blog

Thanks for your reply.