Unanswered: calculate average growth rate

I've got a statistics table that I've been writing to for about 2 years now. Every saturday night, a size (in MB) snapshot of each DB file is taken and dumped into this table. I'm then emailed a copy for that week.

Now, I'm trying to figure out what the fastest growers are. Here's the table ddl
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE [dbo].[DBSizeStats] (
    	[statid] [int] IDENTITY (1, 1) NOT NULL ,
    	[LogDate] [datetime] NULL ,
    	[Server] [varchar] (10) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,
    	[DBName] [varchar] (200) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,
    	[MDFName] [varchar] (200) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,
    	[MDFSize] [decimal](18, 0) NULL ,
    	[LDFName] [varchar] (200) COLLATE SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS NULL ,
    	[LDFSize] [decimal](18, 0) NULL ,
    	[TotalSize] [decimal](18, 0) NULL 
    ) ON [PRIMARY]
    GO
    What I'm trying to figure out is how to query the average monthly and yearly growth percentages per DB on the MDFSize column.

I'm usually pretty good at this sort of thing, but I just can't seem to wrap my head around how to solve this issue. I'm not having a very good math day.

what am I missing here?

Provided Answers: 10
    How do you define "Average growth"?
    This will tell you the average MDFSize for each year period; a good place to start methinks
    Code:
    SELECT Avg(MDFSize)
         , DBName
         , Year(LogDate)
    FROM   DBSizeStats
    GROUP
        BY DBName
         , Year(LogDate)
    George
    Home | Blog

Provided Answers: 1
    Average growth is simply the starting size subtracted from the ending size, and divided by the number of units (months, I assume).
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com