Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    38

    Unanswered: Invisible page X of X on my forms

    I have an ongoing issue of total number of recods not being shown when I open my forms. It takes a while to see the total number of records. It starts as 1 of 'nothing' . My database is split and sitting on the shared network. Is this something others have experienced too? If so, is there a way I can force the form to show me total number of projects quickly?

    Thanks for some insight.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Would you rather that it waited for the number of records to be calculated before displaying anything? Be glad that Access is being clever and letting you just get on before bogging down the form load with trivial numbering.


    ...imho
    George
    Home | Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    The only way I know of to get the number of records to show faster than normal is to navigate to the end of the recordset.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    but why is the number of records important, Ive never seen that having any significance in the real world, unless the company actually needs such stats.. in which case run 'em off as an overnight report
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I agree with ya. Just trying to answer the question
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    38
    We raise purchase orders via sub form and user needs to know if there have been any PO raised previously. If you are opening a form, would you not be interested in looking at how many records are there?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Nope.

    I'll either see purchase orders or I won't. Why would I care how many there are?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    I might want to know how many purchase orders had been raised for that supplier in this period compared to say last period, but if I was raising a PO Id just want to dive straight in and get the PO sorted out. I might want to review the last weeks PO with that supplier just to check I wasn't duplciating and order, but whether Ive raised 1 or 100 PO's on a particular supplier is as far as I see it irrelevant in an online PO data capture. it may have relevance elsewhere on another screen, but then Id probably get to the number using a different route (doing a SQL aggregation).

    the number of PO's in the PO table is irrelevant as far as Im concerned. does it matter that you have 1250 PO's so far, of which none are for this supplier.

    it looks to me like its a user requirement that has developed 'cos its there, rather than 'cos its a useful metric. its a bit like the whole GUI approach, the pretend it far easier to use beacuse it looks real purdy... you can still get atrocious user interfaces with GUI's, and they take a heck of a lot of processor power, and some of them consume a heck of a lot of network bandwidth trucking useless information from the server to the client. The classic in my mind is the combo bo for all your customers (if you have a couple hundred customers its no big deal, if you have a couple of thousand customers it is a big deal waiting for the combo to load.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •