Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Connect to different Oracle server and database in PL/SQL code

    Hi,
    There are two oracle servers and databese, A and B. I need to read data from database A and insert those data to databse B. Is there anyway I can do it in PL/SQL program?

    Regards,

    Shiva

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,647
    >Is there anyway I can do it in PL/SQL
    use a DBLINK (database link)
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    There are no stupid questions, but there are a LOT of Inquisitive Idiots.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks. But wehen I run a query,
    Select * from [tablename]@TEST
    I receive following error,
    "ORA-02019: Connection description for remore database not found".
    Would you please advise?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,647
    >Would you please advise?
    before you can use a DBLINK, you must CREATE DBLINK ......
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    There are no stupid questions, but there are a LOT of Inquisitive Idiots.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,008
    And before you create a database link, you must read how to do it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2,819
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiva.jamshidiat
    Select * from [tablename]@TEST
    [tablename] is not a valid identifier in Oracle.
    I hope you don't really use those square brackets...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks all. I created a DBLINK and get the result.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks all. I didn't user table name in bracket, Just I created a DBLINK and get the result.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •