Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16

    Post Unanswered: Error while upgrading from MSDE 2000 SP3 to SP4

    Having some trouble running the SP4 upgrade on a MSDE 2k named instance.Its working for one instance but give me error for the second instance.

    - MSDE 2k sp3 currently installed
    - Windows XP Pro
    - Non-null SA pw
    - Executing setup.exe /UpgradeSP SQLRUN


    The install runs for a bit and then disappears. Here's what the very
    bottom of the log reads:

    === Logging stopped: 08/05/15 11:44:29 ===
    MSI (c) (64:F8) [11:44:29:698]: Note: 1: 1729
    MSI (c) (64:F8) [11:44:29:698]: Product: Microsoft SQL Server Desktop Engine -- Configuration failed.

    MSI (c) (64:F8) [11:44:29:713]: Grabbed execution mutex.
    MSI (c) (64:F8) [11:44:29:713]: Cleaning up uninstalled install packages, if any exist
    MSI (c) (64:F8) [11:44:29:713]: MainEngineThread is returning 1603
    === Verbose logging stopped: 08/05/15 11:44:29 ===


    the only other error I can see is this:

    Action start 11:44:29: RestoreSetupParams.2D02443E_7002_4C0B_ABC9_EAB2C06 4397B.
    MSI (s) (A8:B4) [11:44:29:651]: Invoking remote custom action. DLL: C:\WINDOWS\Installer\MSI19E.tmp, Entrypoint: RestoreSetupParams
    SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server Setup.{FE7E950B-220A-4182-B5CA-19397244DCFD}
    Entering Function MyMsiEvaluateCondition
    MsiEvaluateCondition for SQLMSDEInstalled returned TRUE
    End Function MyMsiEvaluateCondition
    Error reading setup parameters
    Action ended 11:44:29: RestoreSetupParams.2D02443E_7002_4C0B_ABC9_EAB2C06 4397B. Return value 3.
    Action ended 11:44:29: INSTALL. Return value 3.

    SYNTAX Used is : setup.exe /upgradesp sqlrun INSTANCENAME= SECURITYMODE=SQL UPGRADEUSER=sa UPGRADEPWD=MyPwd BLANKSAPWD=1 /L*v D:\MSDE.log

    Please note that I am using BLANKSAPWD=1 because BUILTIN\Administrators right is not present, the above syntax is working for one named instance but is failing in second named instance.

    I'll post the full log if that helps. Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Onkar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    What account this instance is running under?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16
    Both instance are running under the SA account

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    hmmm...never heard of a SQL instance running under SA account...Are you sure?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16
    Yeah I am sure of that

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    SQL Server service cannot run under a SQL Standard Security account. Before SA becomes accessible to be used in the logon process, the service has to start. The service starts under either of the following:
    Local System (NT AUTHORITY)
    Local server account
    Network Service
    Domain Account

    Which one is yours running under?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16
    Local System (NT AUTHORITY)
    Local server account

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    So which one is it?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16
    Local server account

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Change the service to run under Local System for the duration of the upgrade, and make sure you start the upgrade under an administrative account that has sysadmin server role.
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16
    Tried the suggestion but still getting the same error.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •