Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    89

    Question Unanswered: DBConsole service not existing

    Hi there,

    I have installed a Oracle 10G R1 standard edition on my Win2003 server.
    It was starting up and running fine.
    However I am unable to start dbconsole with
    emctl start dbconsole
    with the error message:
    "The service name is invalid."

    I checked the services and noticed that there is not even a service for dbconsole!
    I have all usual ones like Oracle<SID>TNSListener, OracleService<SID> etc... but nothing that looks remotely like it belongs to dbconsole.

    I then have re-installed the database control service with OUI, making sure it is ticked, although it says it is already installed.
    Still no dbconsole service...

    Any idea anyone?

    Thank you...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Have you tried accessing the dbconsole, using what the URL should be? (use port 1158 if it's the only database).

    Otherwise, try the RECREATE option.

    emca -config dbcontrol db -repos recreate
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by cis_groupie
    Have you tried accessing the dbconsole, using what the URL should be? (use port 1158 if it's the only database).

    Otherwise, try the RECREATE option.

    emca -config dbcontrol db -repos recreate
    well emctl status dbconsole tells me that its not running, so i didnt even try to go to the website.

    I have tried
    emca -repos recreate,
    getting the "severe" error that the repository already exists and that i should fix the error and then run emca in standalone mode.
    not sure how to do that fixing though... ???
    Last edited by freeBatjko; 05-16-08 at 07:51.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    The whole point of the RECREATE option is that it deletes any existing repository & then creates a new one, so I don't know why it's not working.

    But then again, you're not posting what's on your screen, just telling us that you get a 'severe error'. Screen output would help!
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by cis_groupie
    The whole point of the RECREATE option is that it deletes any existing repository & then creates a new one, so I don't know why it's not working.

    But then again, you're not posting what's on your screen, just telling us that you get a 'severe error'. Screen output would help!
    well that's the actual output:
    it actually says "SEVERE":

    [first it asks for the parameters like SID and all system passwords etc, and then:]

    Do you wish to continue? [yes/no]: yes
    DBConsole is already configured for the database Ora1
    Would you like to re-configure DBConsole for the specified database? [yes/no]: y
    es
    Make sure that DBConsole has been shutdown
    When you are ready to continue, press <Enter>

    16-May-2008 09:49:01 oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfig checkConfiguration
    SEVERE: Repository already exists. Fix the error(s) and run EM Configuration As
    sistant again in standalone mode.
    Could not complete the configuration. Refer to the log file for details


    so... what the heck?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Now that you've shown us the exact message you're getting it makes it easier to help you.

    Have you tried the advice given on this page?:

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs.../structure.htm

    or this page?:

    http://forums.oracle.com/forums/thre...ssageID=786723

    There's plenty more out there is you google for the error message.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by cis_groupie
    Now that you've shown us the exact message you're getting it makes it easier to help you.

    Have you tried the advice given on this page?:

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs.../structure.htm

    or this page?:

    http://forums.oracle.com/forums/thre...ssageID=786723

    There's plenty more out there is you google for the error message.
    Ah...
    emca -r did the job!
    it took a while for the service to start once it was created, but then it was all good.

    Thanks for the help! It's much appreciated!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Glad you got it working, & thanks for letting others know (for the future) how you solved it.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •