Database Manifestos

Hi all,

I am quite new to learning in more detail about databases and I was just wandering if anybody could help me with the following three things:

A clear definition of what exactly a database manifesto is, in quite simple terms.

If and how the two manifestos approaches (object oriented and third generation) are out of date or still relevant

Where the two manifestos approaches differ

Thanks for any help any of you can give, I would be greatful
    Last edited by dblearner89; 05-17-08 at 07:26.

http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.php?t=1630337
    Presumably you two are on the same course.

A database manifesto is a pile of putrid pontifications by non-practioners.

By defintion, no manifesto could be relevant.

-PatP

Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.php?t=1630337
    Presumably you two are on the same course.
    those brits, eh, what will they think of next

not you, poots, i mean the school these two british students are attending

what kind of a job are they hoping to get after a course like that?

it is to cry, to see how some unscrupulous unis foist their ridiculous agendas on unsuspecting students...
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Quote Originally Posted by dblearner89
    Hi all,

I am quite new to learning in more detail about databases and I was just wandering if anybody could help me with the following three things:

A clear definition of what exactly a database manifesto is, in quite simple terms.
    Well, dictionary.com says a manifesto is "a public declaration of intentions, opinions, objectives, or motives, as one issued by a government, sovereign, or organization."

That tends to fit my personal definition of "manifesto" as being primarily political. It's a stupid term to apply to database studies.

If and how the two manifestos approaches (object oriented and third generation) are out of date or still relevant