Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: data in subforms

    Hi,
    I know this has been discussed many times before but I am a beginner and can't figure out what is wrong.
    Have a look at the attached database. I have made a quick draft of the form I need.
    I need to be able to add/remove and edit the categories and skills names for each company in the 2 subforms /skill and category/

    I do not know if this is the way to do it nor I pretend I have set up the tables and relations properly.

    Any help will be appreciated
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by zhelyan; 05-24-08 at 07:58.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    You can create a separate form for managing categories and then have a button that opens it from the company form. Do the same for skills.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    You can create a separate form for managing categories and then have a button that opens it from the company form. Do the same for skills.
    I have done this already but it is not very convenient.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    OK,... Install a neural interface so that the system can read the mind of the user and then connect that to VBA code

    Seriously though, what do you think would be more convenient? ... and convenient to whom? You... or the end users?

    Perhaps you'd like to specify what exactly you want to do instead of expecting people to guess
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    OK,... Install a neural interface so that the system can read the mind of the user and then connect that to VBA code

    Seriously though, what do you think would be more convenient? ... and convenient to whom? You... or the end users?

    Perhaps you'd like to specify what exactly you want to do instead of expecting people to guess
    haha :-)

    This DB will be used by somebody else where "somebody else" = somebody who makes no difference between excel and access..
    So I would like to make the form as easy to use as possible - all editing, adding, deleting whatever to be done from within the main form.
    If he wants to add the category "Thiefs" to the list of categories he would ideally just type its name in the subform and it will be added:
    1 - to the master category list / " table_category"/
    2 - to the specific company /a new entry in "table_in_category"/

    What I have done so far is in the attached zip
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Well it is possible to add a category automatically if it is not there by keying into a combo box on the main form and using the On Not In List event procedure to add the element that is missing. However, keying errors and spelling errors will all be added into the table and become "valid" selections. Personally I don't like doing it.

    This also doesn't deal with renaming a category or deleting one.

    Perhaps a little training for your end users might be a better option? Seriously, if they can't deal with clicking one button to edit a list of selections then I would have serious concerns about their ability to use any kind of database application.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    Well it is possible to add a category automatically if it is not there by keying into a combo box on the main form and using the On Not In List event procedure to add the element that is missing. However, keying errors and spelling errors will all be added into the table and become "valid" selections. Personally I don't like doing it.

    This also doesn't deal with renaming a category or deleting one.

    Perhaps a little training for your end users might be a better option? Seriously, if they can't deal with clicking one button to edit a list of selections then I would have serious concerns about their ability to use any kind of database application.
    Ok. You convinced me :-) Now I have to convince them.

    Just one more thing - how about the DB design, relations etc. Any remarks?

    thanks again

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Good luck convincing them

    Table structure is fine... but I don't like your table names much
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •