Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Weatherford TX (Between Fort Worth and Abilene)
    Posts
    57

    Unanswered: Access 2007 bug or what

    Hello everyone,
    I have just started using Access 2007 and I absolutely hate it. I think I have found a bug or else one of the simplest things have changed in 2007.

    These are the steps on what I did to find the problem.
    1. Create a form based on a Select statement selecting only one or two fields from a table. Ie
    Code:
    Select Field1, Field2 from table1
    2. Save and close the form.
    3. Reopen the form and select build to open the query builder and add an additional field, ie
    Code:
    Select Field1,Field2,Field3 from table1
    4. when I closed the query builder and saved changes to the select statement after adding field3 , the select statement was not saved – Field3 was not in the list of available fields.


    I tried this several times and I could not get Field3 to show in the field list and I could not make a reference to Field3 anywhere in either VBA or the control source for a textbox . The only way I could get the fields to show is when I finally gave up and saved the sql statement as a query and set the recordsouce to the query.

    I’ve been developing Access applications for over 10 years and this has me completely baffled. Is there a new way to change the select statement for a form? Is anyone else seen this problem or is it just happening to me? Is there a way around this?
    Thanks
    GEM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    From memory this is a known bug that I have read about somewhere.

    Mind you, I couldn't replicate the problem. Got a database to upload?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Global Village
    Posts
    185
    The solution is very silly after you closed the query builder you must click on another box in the properties dialog box to implement your changes to query otherwise nothing will be saved.
    Try to forget using 2007 as I do so, stick on 2003 which is reliable.
    <<Never Walk on the Traveled Path, Because it only Leads you to where the Others have been.>>
    Graham Bell

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Yes, but that has existed for ages, it's not new to 2007....

    That's why I have the religious habit of pressing Enter after modifying just about any text based property in the property sheet ^^
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    2,888
    Provided Answers: 6
    Definitely a 2007 bug, which drove me crazy until I discovered the fix noted by Aran1. Third one down:

    http://allenbrowne.com/Access2007.html#Bugs
    Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    That's where I read it
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I've gotten into the habit of always pressing enter (or going to another control) whenever I edit code in any language tool (including vb, Progress, 4GL and SQL Server, etc.). I wouldn't rag on Microsoft for this as I've also seen this problem of non-saving if you don't do this in non-Microsoft products.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Global Village
    Posts
    185
    I don't know about other languages but it is very stupid action.
    Save button doesn't work until you press enter
    <<Never Walk on the Traveled Path, Because it only Leads you to where the Others have been.>>
    Graham Bell

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Yes.

    Consider 4GL where you write a few lines of code. Save it. And then execute it. But your code won't execute and seems non-existitent (why?) Because you didn't compile it (which may take 1-2 hours) (and I'm talking about 1-2 lines of code and comparing the compile process of a few lines of code in 4GL against thousands of lines of code in MSAccess which takes less than a minute or two to compile.) So you compile it and it still doesn't execute (why?) because you didn't save it in a recognized pre-established directory determined by some other code. So you save it in one of the pre-established directories (or add the directory to what the program recognizes (since 4GL is based on pieces of code saved in many different file directories) but it still doesn't execute (why?) because you didn't save it in the correct directory that is supposed to execute the code in that directory before code in another directory. So you move the pre-established (or new) directory higher in hiearchy but it still doesn't execute (why?) because you need to re-compile again (another 1-2 hours). But it still doesn't execute (why?) because (if it was a new directory) it wasn't added to the system path (and a path the program recongizes) and you needed to reboot the computer to recognize that path. So you do this and still can't get your code to execute (again, why?) Recompile again (another 1-2 hours and a day later.) You finally get that 1-2 lines of code to execute only to find a syntax error (which isn't caught in the compile process). So you fix the syntax error and again recompile. Finally, it executes but now other code won't execute (because you changed the heiarchy of the directories of the code.) So you spend the next few days working with the hiearchy's of the directories to get the code to execute in the proper order (not forgetting to recompile each time to see if what you did was in the correct order.) 2 weeks later, you're able to see if the 2 lines of code you wrote actually do what you want it to do and put it out there for others to use. But it won't execute for everyone else (why?) because their system path needs to be established to recongize the new directory you created. After a few days (or weeks) more (and a full 6-8 hour compile of the entire program (because 4GL is compiled in pieces or you do a full 6-8 hour compile each time and it also depends on whether you do a code piece compile or a full compile to determine if your code will execute), you finally get those 1-2 lines of code working on everyone else's machine.

    I know I got off the track of hitting enter here to save the code but this is an example of what it takes to get a few lines of code to actually execute in a language like 4GL. Even though the code may be saved (BUT that is also provided you did other things besides just hitting enter as it is very easy to lose code you've written in 4GL), the point is that the process of getting the code to actually execute so you can qc and test it is quite exhaustive besides getting it to simply save.

    Not to be sarcastic (and I didn't throw in several, several other factors which could prevent your code from saving and executing - I simplified one of many, many processes to get code to execute in 4GL), but the other 4GL programmers thought this process was by far easier than writing those 2 lines of code in MSAccess. I too, thought some of the bugs in MSAccess were stupid and complained about them (and I've been using MSAccess since version 1.0) I learned 4GL a few years ago. But the "bugs" in MSAccess are really very trivial compared to when you learn something like 4GL (and I haven't even mentioned the Progress backend tables for 4GL and the management of them compared to MSAccess tables or SQL Server.) And 4GL is supposedly an enhanced programming language considered by "some" as a higher level language versus MSAccess (and not an out-of-date language as I was told it is more popular than MSAccess - 4GL/Progress is used extensively in many places and they are just getting the kinks out of the "graphical" interface). It reminded me of those Assembly code programming days.
    Last edited by pkstormy; 05-31-08 at 10:10.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •