Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

The Conceptual Schema

Hi there,

I am currently studying and focusing on databases. I have heard that most conceptual design stuff is done using entity relationship modelling.

However, having studied both ER and ORM (object role modelling) I have formed the opinion that ORM is vastly superior to any flavour of ER or UML for conceptual db design.

So, I was wondering if anyone who works in this area could shed some light on why ORM has not been embraced to the same extent as its lesser counterparts.

Is it just that the ER tools are cheaper and/or more readily available?
    That has been my only gripe with ORM as a student. There is no software that you can use for it (without paying big bucks for the enterprise edition of visual studio). So all of our diagrams are done using MS Word.

Otherwise ORM cooks!!!

Quote Originally Posted by onefootswill
    So all of our diagrams are done using MS Word.
    there's your main problem right there!

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

If the only tool you've got is a hammer, then every problem looks like a nail... Don't try to repair watches though! The problem with ORM (Object Relational Modeling) is that it can only cope with O, and treats RM as an afterthought.

There are many ways to create code, and object orientation is only one of those methods. Many of us deal with databases that were designed in "flatland" when data was kept in files that were managed by applications, and only the applications that had access to the file definitions could use the data. Some of use have to deal with NPL (Non-Procedural Languages). ORM fails miserably in trying to cope with either extreme.

If you are sure that you'll only have to work with Object Oriented Programming (OOPs), then ORM is "just the ticket" for your modeling needs. ORM is a good methodology, and it is quite adequate for many purposes as long as you don't exceed its limits.

-PatP