Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24

    Unanswered: Query search dropdown box?

    me again

    Is it possable to when using the Square brackets ( [ Enter Name Here ] )to search a query, you know so they can enter there own choice, to limit there option to whats held with in a dropdown box, that is held with in that collyum is also limited to a dropdown box. i just don't want them to come to me complaining that they can not find something because the spell the code wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    me again too

    No - but there is a better way.
    1) Create your drop down box
    2) In the query, replace [ Enter Name Here ] with Forms!YourFormName!YourComboBoxName

    Now the query reads the selected value from the combo.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24
    what form????? u mean the input form? ok hang on

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Ah - this might be important - where is your dropdown?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Quote Originally Posted by linoukus
    what form????? u mean the input form? ok hang on
    Either the input form or one made specifically to let the user define what they want to see... aka a custom dialog box.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24
    there is no drop down. ok ill simplfiy this a bit. i have a collum what is limit to only have 4 value: book in, Quoted, ordered and booked out. so that is the only thing that the collum will except.
    Now i want to query this with to critera one being name and the second being where the item is booked in, quoted etc. so what do i do so that when teh little window pops up, it ask for the name and then give a drop down box listing: book in, Quoted, ordered and booked out?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    How have you limited it to four values? Have you used the Lookup tab in table design?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    24
    yes i've used the lookup tab in table design

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Yuk.

    Make forms!!!!!!! It's the only way to do what you want to do.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Ok:
    http://www.mvps.org/access/tencommandments.htm
    http://www.mvps.org/access/lookupfields.htm

    I would change this. Based on your other answers you need to get rid of all these look ups and set up proper relationships between tables.

    The short answer is you cannot do exactly what you want but you can pretty well do the same. Set up a form, stick on a combo looking up those four values, have the query reference the combo (as in my first post) and have a button to run the query.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •