Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23

    Unanswered: Report header causes a blank page before the detail

    I posted this under Usenet Groups, but not sure it was the best place to do that. I'm not real sure how I got there in the first place. I hope it's ok to repost it here. I'm thinking it will get more traffic. Please let me know if I screwed up in some way.

    I created a 2 page report in Access 2007 that has a header with anything at all on it and the detail has only a text box which has a height that would continue that text box from the first page across the page boundry to the second page.

    In the print preview Access starts the text box on the second page and puts only the header on the first page, no matter how big the header is. If it is just a small header it still prints just the header on the first page, then the header and the text box on the second page.

    I would want the text box to start printing on the fist page and continue onto the second page for the rest of the text box.

    With no header the text box starts printing on the first page just fine. The problem occurs when there is any kind of header at all.

    This seems to only happen in Access 2007. When I'm in Access 2003 it starts the text box on the first page when a text box continues across a page. Can anybody tell me how to make this work in 2007? Hopefully I'm explaining this well enough. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    First thing I don't understand is this text box that goes over the page... Why not just make a small text box and set its Can Grow property to Yes?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23
    Yeah, sorry to cause that kind of confusion with this. This is my test sample thing. The real report with the problem has several other objects, like vertical lines, that cross page boundries causing the problem also.

    What they did was try to create a template for a printed form that is exactly two pages and another that is exactly three pages, etc. The text box houses a memo field and shows up on one side of the page. Next to it is a subform with the vertical lines that show up behind it. They've done this with boat loads of reports, which are now all messed up since they've converted to A2007.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Rollback the Access version?

    Sorry, but that's what I would recommend at this stage.

    Can you upload that "test sample thing"? I'd like to have a closer look.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23
    rptCDRL3 is the actual report, rptCDRL3_TestThing is the one I was describing. The rest are sub reports. Hopefully this zip file will upload ok.

    I agree with you about rolling back the version for now maybe. But I don't think they'll be very keen on doing that. Plus, Office 2007 will be "rolled out" to everyone regardless in a few weeks by the Air Force. I don't know what it'll take to get some people back to 2003. I'm thinking they won't let it happen at all. So we may be stuck with this. Short of a huge amount of code to parse things and rearrange them in the tables so they can be forced into a different kind of form, like splitting the field across pages or something like that I don't have many ideas (...and I don't have much of an idea how to do that either.) Unless I can talk them into ignoring the first page. They probably won't like that idea.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by bhavdahl; 06-06-08 at 15:58.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Thanks for that

    Looks like you have a lot of work ahead of you, fixing boat loads of reports that have been designed "strangely".

    I got the top subform, made it as tall as one line of text, did the same to the big memo field at the left, moved the bottom subform immediately underneath the top one, deleted the 38973 lines, closed up the detail section and previewed it. I could see no problems why the report couldn't be designed this way.

    Other than that, sorry I have no idea what you could do to make Access 2007 understand what to do with objects which are deeper than a page in length -- I've never done it.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23
    Thanks!! I tried all that and it looks like it works pretty well! I added to the memo field and when it grows across the page boundry no extra pages appear. Since they seem to want it to be a 3 page report no matter what, I made the detail section 18in high with the one line high controls at the top and I still get only 3 pages when they grow. They have a couple of those and a few 2-page-regardless reports too. I'm wondering if that's going to cause problems some where down the road. But that's what they seem to want.

    The only problem is the top subform (...on the right) should be 3 pages exactly with the total (...bottom subform) at the end of the third page. But I don't see how that can be done unless there's a way to make the thing "grow" to 3 pages without data in it.

    So I'm wondering, is there code you can write to force these controls to "grow" to a certain size, other than setting the height? If there was it looks like that would pretty much give them what they had before exactly.

    Either way, if not, this works real well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    No, other than setting the Height property with VBA there's nothing you can do to make an empty control grow.

    To get it to 3 pages you could also consider throwing in a couple of page break controls

    Curious, beside deliberately killing trees, why would a report have a minimum page count requirement? Very odd.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23
    Ok, thanks. That's kind of what I thought, although I haven't used a page break control for anything before. That might be useful to know about at some point. Thanks for that too.

    As far as the reasoning, I agree. It's wierd. I think they are trying to represent some kind of form they have that was in use before they had a database. Just a guess though. I'm going to go show them the solution with the growing text box, etc. that I put together tomorrow and see what they say.

    The only thing really different with this new way is that there is no border on the text box, since it wouldn't cover all three pages and probably look worse. And the larger subform only goes as far as it goes, pushing the little total subform along with it on it's bottom. (...should I have said a thing like that here??)

    At one point I tried placing the total subform on the last page of the report at the bottom of the 18 inch detail, but wierd things happen and it gets pushed off the page. It only works when it's exactly at the bottom of the other subform. Which I really think is going to work fine, or it should.

    But, so, in light of the idea they are trying to duplicate some form with sort of a template in Access, is there a good forms package of some kind that could interface with Access that you might be aware of? I might be able to recommend something for them to buy that could help.
    Last edited by bhavdahl; 06-12-08 at 15:31.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    It's amazing how much resistance there is to change!

    I've heard that something called Crystal Reports can interface with various databases, but I've personally never used it, so I'm unsure as to what its capabilities are.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23
    Good point! They want to take advantage of new technology, but still want to keep the same mindset they had in the past. I've heard of Crystal Reports too, but never had any experience with it. I read something recently that seemed to say it had it's limitations as well. I actually asked somebody here about it once and it didn't seem to generate much interest. I think it's expensive. They'll probably either have to go back to 2003 or live with some things not looking exactly the way they want. If I was Bill Gates maybe I could help them, but I'm not.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    They'll probably either have to go back to 2003 or live with some things not looking exactly the way they want.
    Exactly. I'd encourage them to do both ^^
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •