Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    44

    Unanswered: Connecting access form to sql server database

    Just wodnering, how do i connect the access form to database which is in SQL Server. i mean i have some access form and tables created on the sql server database. now i need conection string to connect to database so that what ever changes is done in form should be reflected on database itself.

    Derek

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    you want to look into Access Data Projects or linked tables and you want to go to connectionstrings.com.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    44
    i am still not sure, how do i connec t my access application to sql server. so that i can maipulate data from access form( or application). i have all the queries for all alters and update and change.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    It sounds like you are already "connected" if oyu have built the queries in Access. Can you see the SQL Server tables in the tables window in Access?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    maybe he wants us to write the VBA for him?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Maybe he wants us to move this to the Access forum....
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I think he might just need a nudge in the direction of DSNs?

    Use File - Get External Data - Link Tables. On the way through, create a DSN to give you access to your SQL Server database.

    You need to be quite specific as to your situation to get clearer advice. Did you upsize it? Have you got all the connection details for connecting the the SQL Server? Do you want to do this with VBA or just as a once-off? I have more questions than answers.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •