Unanswered: Question on database design for multidimensional data

Hello,

I am new to databases. I got intrigued when I heard the sqlite motto, 'we want to be a replacement for fopen' (or something like that).

I am unsure about the best way to put my data in the database and I'm looking for some advice.

I currently have a directory of many text files containing 2 columns of numbers, e.g.

material_1_colour.txt -->
    x y
    300.0 2.9
    300.5 4.5
    301.0 8.0

material_1_reflection.txt-->
    x y
    600.0 9.6
    601 4.5
    602 8.0

These number describe the colour and reflection of a material. I have data for about 10 materials. What design would you follow? I have thought about these too approaches:

#1 - Enter the data as blobs and give each material it's over table?

#2 - Enter the data as columns in it's own table. Do this for both 'colour' and 'reflection' data. The create material table that links back to the 'colour' and 'reflection' tables?

What would you do?

Regards,

Dan.

what do x and y stand for? usually, they are spatial coordinates
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Quote Originally Posted by boyfarrell
    These number describe the colour and reflection of a material. I have data for about 10 materials. What design would you follow?
    I'd just write all your data down on a post it note and stick it next to the screen. It'll take two minutes to build this system it should be pretty quick to access

Mike

Hmmm I think post-it-notes would be even slower than fopen ...

Although the details aren't important, for the colour files, x is the wavelength of light and y is the absorption coefficient of the material, for the reflection files x is the wavelength and y is emission. Was trying to simplify things by calling them colour and reflection...

Any ideas on the database design?

Regards,

Dan.

What's wrong with just having a table like:
    Code:
    create table MyTable (